Skip to content

Smith honored with Auxiliary Merit Award

Each year, the Walking Horse Trainers’ Auxiliary celebrates Auxiliary Night at the Celebration with the presentation of The Merit Award. This honor is given to an individual who is dedicated to and works tirelessly for the betterment of the walking horse industry as a whole. This year’s recipient was chosen by a unanimous decision of the Auxiliary nearly a year ago. 

This lady has earned not only the Mudslide Slim Lifetime Achievement Award and Member of the Year, but tonight is our Merit Award. She has served the industry for many years, not only as president of the Walking Horse Auxiliary, but also as a trainer’s wife and has involved her children in the breed we all know and love. 
She’s not afraid of hard work, the late nights and early mornings the Auxiliary sometimes endures, and her loyalty to the Auxiliary and Walking Horse Trainers’ Association is fierce. Her tireless efforts to keep the Auxiliary running smoothly are unmatched. 

She’s been a shoulder to cry on and an ear to bend for many members of the Auxiliary during her tenure. The Walking Horse Trainers’ Auxiliary is forever indebted to her for carrying the torch of Auxiliary President the past 12 years. 

Tonight, on behalf of the Walking Horse Trainers’ Auxiliary, Second Vice President Jennifer Barr (right), along with past presidents Dee Cantrell and Freda Dean as well as Heather Beard (left) and Allison Becknell (center) were honored to present Sarah Smith with the 2019 Walking Horse Trainers’ Auxiliary Merit Award. 

More Stories

  • LT

    Read More
  • Louisville, Ky. City Council Urges Passage of PAST Act

    On November 7, 2019 the Louisville City Council unanimously approved a resolution, introduced by Council member Marcus Winkler, urging the United States Department of Agriculture to reinstate the final rule that was adopted in 2017 but never finalized after the election of President Donald Trump... Read More
  • Obituary – Thomas Sumners

    Thomas Brown Sumners passed away November 7, 2019. The funeral was held at Bills-McGaugh & Hamilton Funeral Home on Saturday, November 9, 2019 and was buried at Lone Oak Cemetery... Read More
  • Cammack's Featured in Local Texas Paper

    Blake Cammack and son Jackson Cammack were recently featured in an article in the Longview News Journal, their local paper in Texas. The Cammack's were featured regarding their success at this year's show and the accolades both accomplished this year. Read More
  • High Point correction deadline approaching

    As the season comes to an end, the High Point Report is also soon coming to a close and we need your help! The Walking Horse Report is asking readers to have any changes needing to be made to their High Point standings to us prior to Nov. 22. Read More
  • Latest Issue 11 11 19

    Read More
  • THE Charles Howard CHALLENGE!

    Instead of flowers, friends of Charles B. Howard are challenging one another to donate $41 for 41 years of showing at The International. Proceeds will fund a Charles Burton Howard Memorial Challenge Trophy and a Charles Burton Howard Memorial Scholarship for FFA members... Read More
  • Obituary – Charlie Howard

    Charles Burton Howard, age 68, passed away November 5, 2019 at Vanderbilt. He was born in Lackey, Kentucky and was a resident of Rutherford County. He taught school in Hindman High School, Hindman, KY, Lebanon High School, and Blackman High School... Read More
  • Notice WHTA Members

    Anyone wishing his or her name be added as a candidate will need to notify the WHTA office or a member of the Nominating Committee no later than November 15, 2019 his or her intent to run for an officer or directorship (please specify which one)... Read More
  • Walking For Angels schedule and entries update

    The Walking For the Angels Horse Show, scheduled for Saturday Nov. 9 at 4:00 pm, has added the following class:

    Class 22A – Amateur Stallions Pony class

    Read More