Skip to content

Celebration Holds Annual Meeting; Allison Elected

SHELBYVILLE, Tenn. – The annual meeting of the Tennessee Walking Horse National Celebration® was held on Tuesday, January 15, 2008, in the Blue Ribbon Circle Club on the historic Celebration Grounds.
Celebration Board of Directors Chairman David L. Howard presided over the meeting and brought Association members up to date on the state of the industry and the search for a new Chief Executive Officer.  Interim CEO Virgil Johnson brought members up to date on ongoing business and plans for the upcoming year.  Also making a presentation was Andy Lile of Winnett Associates, PLLC, who reviewed the financial report.
Association member Jim Allison was elected to replace outgoing director Bailey Little, who reached the mandatory retirement age of 70.  Allison was elected to the Celebration Association in 2007 and is General Manager of Duck River Electric Cooperative in Shelbyville, Tennessee.  He is also a football official in the Southeastern Conference. 
Jim has over 25 years of experience in the electric utility industry in the Eastern US.  He began his career at TVA in 1976 and left TVA in 1983 to join the American Electric Power Co. (AEP) – one of the world’s largest electric utility companies - in positions in Indiana, Michigan and West Virginia where he concluded his 10-year AEP career as President of one of the AEP companies.  He also spent three years as a Senior VP with Kentucky Utilities Co. and three years as CEO of the Municipal Electric Authority of Georgia in addition to his TVA and AEP experience.  He joined Duck River and moved to Shelbyville in 1999.
 “I am extremely honored to be named to the Celebration Board of Directors,” said Allison.  “The Celebration® is very important to Shelbyville and the surrounding areas and I am excited about possibly being able to assist in any way I can to assure that it remains the premier event of its kind.”
Along with the addition of Allison, the remaining six members of the Board of Directors were re-elected by the Association.  The slate of officers that was elected for the upcoming year includes chairman David Howard, vice-chairman Charles McDonald, treasurer D.B. Nelson, Jr., and secretary Henry Hulan, III.  The remaining board members are Pat Marsh, and John T Bobo.
The Celebration Association is the 40-person governing body of the Tennessee Walking Horse National Celebration.  The Board of Directors is chosen from the pool of Association members.  Seven new members of the Celebration Association were elected to replace outgoing members.  The new Association members are Ron Bell, Scott Johnson, Christy Parsons, Mike Rittenberry, Austin Swing, Jim Tracy, and Lisa Turner.
The annual meeting for the TWHNC Association is an opportunity to keep the members updated on achievements from the previous year and the plans put in place for the next year of business.

More Stories

  • Cy Webb to compete in Leal's Jr Bull Riding Championship

    Cy Webb will compete today, December 6, in the Short Go at the Leal's Jr. Bull Riding Championship at 11:00 am. The public can tune in for free at Read More
  • Obituary – Sally Elaine Brown

    Sally Elaine Johnson Brown, age 68, went to be with her Lord, Wednesday November 3, 2021 at Centennial Hospital in Nashville, TN.  Read More
  • TWHBEA holds election

    After a lengthy and quite contentious meeting the Tennessee Walking Horse Breeders’ & Exhibitors’ Association (TWHBEA) conducted its annual election of its executive committee. Running unopposed and being elected by acclimation were the following... Read More
  • Latest Issue 12 6 21

    Read More
  • WHOA announces banquet date

    The Walking Horse Owners’ Association would like to announce that the WHOA Annual Awards banquet will be held Saturday, March 26, 2022. Read More
  • High Point Trainer of the Year

    Read More
  • 2021 Readers' Choice Ballot

    You don't have to be a member of anything to vote for your favorite horses, exhibitors, trainers and shows in The 40th Annual Walking Horse Report Readers' Choice conducted by The Walking Horse Report... Read More
  • Obituary – Gilbert Miller

    Mr. Gilbert Miller, 89, prominent Richmond, Kentucky businessman and developer, and the widower of Evelyn Rose Miller, passed away on Friday, November 26, 2021. Read More
  • FAST provides industry update

    In 2021, the walking horse industry has experienced a generally successful year for our show horse including an increased number of horse shows and sustained entry numbers at the 2021 Celebration.  As we enter into the final quarter of the year, industry organizations and leadership are turning their attention toward the 2022 year.   Read More
  • Obituary – Lined With Cash

    It is with heavy hearts that we announce the passing of Lined With Cash. He passed this afternoon of an apparent cardiac arrest.  This 25-year-old son of WGC Coin's Hard Cash out of the great Gen's Silver Lining has sired currently 1238 offspring who hold close to 400 World Titles. Read More