by Sarah Smith

SHELBYVILLE, Tenn. – The Tennessee Walking Horse National Celebration hosted their annual Appreciation Dinner on Tuesday, November 16, 2010 at the Blue Ribbon Circle on the historic Celebration Grounds. Those in attendance played key roles in making sure the 2010 Celebration Horse Show went off without a hitch.

Dr. Doyle Meadows, CEO of the Celebration presided over the event, welcomed guests and presented Garrett Gordon with the Celebration Ambassador Award for his service and commitment to the Celebration. Bailey Little, Director Emeritus gave the invocation just before guests were served a delicious meal catered by Angie’s Catering of Fayetteville, Tenn.

Garrett Gordon received the Celebration Ambassador Award
from Dr. Doyle Meadows.

Charles McDonald, Chairman of the Celebration Board spoke about the theme of the evening, “We are the Celebration,” and expressed his appreciation to everyone who played a role in making the historic show a success. McDonald pointed out the tremendous strides the Celebration had made over the past 18 months and called this year’s show one of the best in recent memory.  He also acknowledged the great responsibility the Celebration has to the community and industry.

Henry Hulan, Treasurer closed out the evening calling on everyone in attendance to not just support the Celebration but also to be ambassadors for the event.  Hulan was pointed in his remarks about the challenging times facing the Celebration with regards to declining attendance which in turn directly affects revenues.  Hulan urged everyone to attend the Celebration and to play a part in the event that is so important for the Bedford County community and economy.  Hulan will be Chairman of the Celebration Board in 2011-2012.

Attendees that played a role in the 2010 Tennessee Walking Horse National Celebration were given a symbolic tri-color ribbon as they left the event by Meadows, Hulan and Connie Nixon.

Charlene & Buddy Nelson

Charles and Karen Sue McDonald

Carrie & Spencer Benedict

 Jennifer Bingham & Anna Clark

Ralph Allen & Connie Nixon