Posted February 5, 2002
At a regularly scheduled Board of Directors meeting the Tennessee Walking Horse National Celebration Board of Directors inducted 18 worthy recipients into the prestigious Celebration Hall of Fame.

The Celebration Hall of Fame honored its first inductee in 1981. Presently there are 109 members in the Celebration Hall of Fame. The Celebration usually inducts 12 individuals every other year into the Hall of Fame. Since we missed 2001 and did not have a banquet, the decision was made to induct 18 into the Hall of Fame in 2002. The Celebration Board of Directors receives numerous suggestions each year for worthy people to be included in the Hall of Fame. The task of selecting a limited number is difficult. The Celebration strives to have a good balance among the owners, breeders, trainers, exhibitors, and other people involved in the walking horse industry. We are delighted with the selection of the people listed that encompasses the 2002 inductees to the Celebration Hall of Fame.

The black-tie banquet will be held on May 22, 2002 in Calsonic Arena on the evening prior to the 32nd Annual Spring Fun Show. More information regarding this gala event will be released in the very near future.

Hall of Fame Inductee's:

Bill Barnett, Sr. Owner
Memphis, TN.

Tom Blankenship Owner and Exhibitor
Indianapolis, IN

Dude Crowder Current Trainer
Shelbyville, TN

Preach Fleming Retired Trainer
Shelbyville, TN

Bob Garner Retired TWHNC Board Member
Shelbyville, TN

Cliff Gillespie Deceased-Announcer
Murfreesboro, TN

Ray Gilmer Trainer
Toone, TN

Arthur and Susan Gordon Owner and Exhibitor
Orange, CA

Sonny Holt Retired Trainer
Athens, AL

Boyd Hudgins Retired Trainer
Gainesville, GA

Frank Neal Owner and Breeder
Nashville, TN

Bob Parks Owner and Exhibitor
Murfreesboro, TN

Dr. and Mrs. R Rigual Owner and Exhibitor
Oklahoma City, OK and San Juan, PR

Steve Smith Owner
Nashville, TN

Charles Tisher Ring Clerk
Columbia, TN

Petie Warren Retired Trainer
New Johnsonville, TN