The Prevent All Soring Tactics (PAST) Act was reintroduced in the House of Representatives on October 1, 2021. The bill has four original sponsors including Reps. Steve Cohen, D-Tenn.; Brian Fitzpatrick, R-Pa.; Jan Schakowsky, D-Ill. and Vern Buchanan, R-Fla. The bill was introduced with 207 other additional cosponsors.

The Senate version of the PAST Act was introduced in June by Senators Mark Warner, D-Va., and Mike Crapo, R-Idaho along with 46 cosponsors. Both versions of the PAST Act introduced remain the same and do not take into account any revisions based on the recently concluded National Academies of Sciences study on the inspection program and problems within that system.

The PAST Act lost as an original sponsor, Rep. Kurt Schrader, D-OR., who is the only veterinarian remaining in either the House of Representatives or Senate. Schrader had worked previously on the compromise bill that failed to move forward in the previous Congress. Schrader does remain a cosponsor of the PAST Act.

Republican support of the PAST is declining with the new Congress. Only 15% of the cosponsors of the bill are Republican which is down from 27% in previous introductions of the PAST Act. The Tennessee Walking Horse is most heavily concentrated in Tennessee and Kentucky and only John Yarmuth, a democrat from Kentucky is a current cosponsor of the PAST Act.