Skip to content

Another Magnifico Weekend in Sunny Southern California

by Maggi Painter

POMONA, Calif. – The 43rd annual California Celebration was held June 7-8, 2008 at the Fair Plex in Pomona, Calif. Chris Messick of Cape Coral, Fla., judged the event.

Scott Benham and Golden West Farms led the blue ribbon tally with 34 blues. Mike and Marilee Moran owned entries won three, Joyce Hofstee’s entries won five, Phyllis Langley’s entries won seven, McKenzie Wickets won three, Hughes and Benham owned entries won four, Bobbie Parady won two, Danelle Kerns won four and single blues were won by the Mike Chiaparri family, Demara Nuzum, Adrienne Cappuccio and Michelle McDermott. Jenny Earhart owned entries won five blues.

Russ Thompson Stables claimed 20 blues. Roger and Rebecca Emerick owned entries walked away with six blues. Greg Bryant directed Magnifico to the blue in the Open Stake class and Roger Emerick made his debut on newly purchased World Champion It’s Billy The Kid to claim the Amateur Specialty Grand Championship title. The Gordon family owned entries claimed three blues, Beth Beasley took home two blues, Bridgett Peyton owned entries claimed two blues, Monica Thompson claimed two blues aboard World Champion Our Sunny Boy, Lisa Steinbach won two blues, Jim Heiting claimed two blues and James Jimenez owned entry won one.

Complete results follow and can be viewed, searched and printed by clicking here.

More Stories

  • Obituary – Raymond Huey "Buddy" Wilhelm Jr.

    Raymond Huey “Buddy” Wilhelm Jr., age 70, of Petersburg TN, passed from this life Monday, June 21, 2021, at Maury Regional Medical Center... Read More
  • Obituary – Sandra Hall

    Sandra Elaine Wallace Hall, age 69, entered into rest on Thursday, June 17, 2021, with her family by her side. Funeral services will be 4:00 PM Friday, July 2, 2021, at Zoar United Methodist Church (2842 Zoar Road, Cheraw, SC 29520) by Pastor Billy Jack Johnson, with remarks by family friend, Mark Farrar... Read More
  • Equine Obituary – Gen's Black Gin

    It is with great sadness to share that Gen’s Black Gin was peacefully laid to rest Sunday, June 20, just five days short of his 22nd birthday. Having extended health issues his breeding was ended this year and he was kept as comfortable as possible... Read More
  • Christmas In July class name change

    Class 27 for the Christmas In July Horse Show, originally listed as Western Trail Pleasure (Riders' Cup) will be Trail Pleasure, Optional Tack (Riders' Cup). Unless specifically designated, all pleasure classes will be optional tack... Read More
  • Equine Obituary – Himself

    On Monday, June 14, 2021, the Smith Family said goodbye to their beloved Himself. The big roan gentle giant was sired by Pusher’s Big Score and was out of Generator’s Golden Child... Read More
  • Arab Summer Classic postponed

    The Arab Summer Classic scheduled for tonight, June 19, has been postponed due to weather. The show is rescheduled for Saturday, July 17. Read More
  • Latest Issue 6 21 21

    Read More
  • Be mindful of leadline participants

    The Tennessee Walking Horse industry is fortunate to have participants that range from small children to those that have experienced a full life. Many of our participants first introduction to the Tennessee Walking Horse is through our leadline classes... Read More
  • Obituary – Mary Ella Burke

    Mary Ella Burke of Wildersville, Tennessee, passed away Friday, June 4, 2021, at the age of 82. She is preceded in death by her husband, Earnest F. Burke, her mother Beaulah Johnson and father Ray Johnson... Read More
  • Walking Horse Owners Association presents the Charles B. Howard Memorial Fund Scholarship

    The Walking Horse Owners Association is honored to announce the Charles B. Howard Scholarship program for the year 2021-2022. Affectionately known as “Charlie”, he would want to help a career minded student to reach their potential and proudly present these first awards... Read More