Skip to content

McConnell Leads Tight Riders' Cup Race

Jimmy McConnell is in a familiar spot atop the 2010 Riders’ Cup standings heading into the busy summer show season.  McConnell leads the race with 10,880 points in 30 classes.  Right behind McConnell is Charlie Green with 9,940 points.  In the final standings from 2009 Green was second and McConnell was third. 

Rounding out the top five in the current standings are Justin Harris, Tim Smith and Knox Blackburn.  Blackburn has been a fixture in the standings since their inception never finishing worst than sixth overall at the end of the year.  This is the sixth year of the Riders’ Cup program, a joint venture between the Walking Horse Trainers’ Association and Walking Horse Report.

In the sixth through tenth spots are Edgar Abernathy, Bill Cantrell, Justin Jenne, Paul Livingston and John Allan Callaway.  New in 2010, all HIOs are eligible for Riders’ Cup and the top 10 prove the diversity of the program.  McConnell and Abernathy are staples on the Mid South and West Tennessee/Mississippi circuits while Livingston makes most East Tennessee shows.  Cantrell is located in Phenix City, Alabama and attends many of the south Alabama and Georgia horse shows.

The upcoming Fun Show on May 27-29, 2010 in Shelbyville, Tenn. will prove to be an important horse show in the final standings as it is a double-point horse show.  Also, in 2010 The Celebration will be included in the Riders’ Cup and will be a triple point show.

The Celebration has sponsored the Walking Horse Stake division in 2010 but all other nine divisions are still available for sponsorship.  Each sponsorship is $2,500 and can be paid over installments.  Sponsors are announced at all Riders’ Cup horse shows when the class is announced and are also featured in the Walking Horse Report each week with the standings.  Also, What A Horse will announce the Riders’ Cup sponsors on its program each week when highlights of those shows are shown.

The Riders’ Cup standings can be found exclusively in the Walking Horse Report each week and online at the Walking Horse Report’s web site.  Click here to see the current standings.  You can also search by year and see the history of the Riders’ Cup program’s final standings.

More Stories

  • Latest_Issue_June_25_18

    Read More
  • Christmas In July schedule update

    The Christmas In July show, scheduled for July 4-5, has modified their original class schedule. Class 32 will now be Amateur Country Pleasure Western and class 9a will be Amateur Country Pleasure English. Read More
  • Supreme Court Decision Holds ALJs Must Be Appointed

    The United States Supreme Court has ruled that Administrative Law Judges must be appointed by the department head and not how they are currently retained by the agency they represent.  The case, Lucia vs. the Securities and Exchange Commission, does not deal with administrative law judges in the USDA, however the ruling could have a major impact on the enforcement scheme currently utilized by the USDA in Horse Protection Act cases. Read More
  • Obituary – Sam Hartsell

    Sam “Shot” Hartsell, age 74, of Newport, passed away Saturday, June 9, 2018, in Knoxville. He was preceded in death by his wife, Nan Hartsell and parents, Floyd and Viola McMahan Hartsell... Read More
  • WHOA announces International judging panel

    The Walking Horse Owners' is pleased to announce the three judges selected by current WHOA members. Charlie Brown, Shelli MeHaffey and Lonnie Messick will officiate the 40th Annual International Pleasure & Colt Championship.

    Read More
  • Savannah Lions Club adds classes

    The 52nd Annual Savannah Lions Club Show, scheduled for June 23 at 6:30 pm, has added two classes to their original schedule... Read More
  • Scrivner selected to judge Mid-South

    The Mid-South Walking Horse Association Show, scheduled for July 14, has selected Dickie Scrivner of Murfreesboro, Tennessee to mark the cards for this year's event. The show will be held at Pugh Bourne Park in Jackson, Tennessee.  Read More
  • Equine Obituary - Gen’s Armed & Dangerous

    The Report has recently learned of the passing of Gen’s Armed and Dangerous. The beautiful stallion was the 1994 Tennessee Walking Horse World Grand Champion. Read More
  • Ohio Valley adds class

    Ohio Valley Walking Horse Association show, scheduled for June 23 in Stanford, Kentucky, has added a 4 and Under Trail Pleasure to their show.  Read More
  • Walking For Hope Show updates

    The Walking For Hope show, scheduled for June 16, has selected Chris Zahnd to judge this year’s event. Originally scheduled to start at 4:00, the show will start at 5:00 pm. Read More