The first Miss Kentucky Celebration pageant was held at Lawrenceburg, Ky., as a special presentation for the 25th (silver) anniversary of the Kentucky Celebration. Senator Mitch McConnell was present to make the presentation. It was so popular, the KWHA Ladies Auxiliary decided to make it an annual event. The following young women have held the honor of Miss Kentucky Celebration:


1989 – Julie (Howard) George
1990 – Apryl (Floyd) McQuerry
1991 – Jennifer Bingham
1992 – Dana Doyle
1993 – Patricia VanHook
1994 – Brandi (Floyd) Raizor
1995 – Rebecca Taylor
1996 – Brandi Todd-Mills
1997 – Tara McQuerry
1998 – Lora Fitzpatrick
1999 – Lindsay Oliver
2000 – Andrea Lunsford
2001 – Cassie Sowder
2002 – Nicole Smithson
2003 – Kathy Jo Smith
2004 – Jessica Smoot
2005 – Cassie Napier

This year’s Miss Kentucky Celebration will be held during the Kentucky Celebration at the New Casey Co. Fairgrounds in Liberty, Ky. The eligibility requirements are that you must be 15 years of age by July 14 of each year, and you must be a KWHA member and no older that 19. KWHA members should expect their ballots after September 2, 2006. There are three contestants running in the pageant this year and they are as follows:

Laura Beth Comley of Richmond, Ky.
Mandie Napier of Union, Ky.

Raeanne Ratliff of Lancaster, Ky.

For more information on the Miss Kentucky Pageant, please contact Brandi Todd-Mills – Richmond, Ky. or Brandi Raizor of Bagdad, Ky.