by Derick Mann
With the rain gone, and the heat taking it’s place, exhibitors and spectators gathered at the Calsonic Arena at nine o’ clock for the Saturday morning session of the 64th Annual Celebration. Equitation, Yearling, and Pleasure classes filled the schedule. Large numbers of entries resulted in the last minute split of two classes as riders and judges worked to keep things moving along.

The 11 & Under Equitation class started the day off. Every rider showed the judging panel their entry with class and style. The judges decided that the first award of the day would go to Lindsey Landrum. Paige Bennett received second and Emma Jones placed third.

Parents and grandparents eagerly awaited the arrival of the Lead Line Ponies Class with Riders 6 & Under. Nineteen entries were led into the ring to compete for the blue. All of the entries were good and made it tough for the judges to decide. Following a short lineup the call came for Ellie Jackson and Casper to come and receive the blue with Meredith Jackson at lead. The talented little team hails from Cornersville, Tennessee. The reserve ribbon was then awarded to Morgan and Angela House and Molly. Third in the class went to Shake’s Little Midnight and Jordan Dempsey with Charled Gleghorn at lead.

Fourteen entries headed in the gate next for the Amateur Owned and Trained English Trail Pleasure class. Each of these owners take on the tough responsibility of training the horses which requires hard work and dedication. All of the hard work paid off for the team of She’s Legal Tender and Charlene Cook as they were awarded the top honor of the class. Eagle’s Lady Sue and Karla Massey were tyed reserve in the class. Rounding out the top three was Mr. Reach and Darren Gray with a third place ribbon.

Division B of the Amateur Owned and Trained English Trail Pleasure class took to the ring next with thirteen entries. Judge Milligan called the class. The particiating horses in the class cannot have had any professional training in the past ninety days. The talented Blond Ambition didn’t need it, rider and owner Lisa Weaver did an excellent job preparing the fine horse to win the class. Reserve went to Royal Prince Charlie and Jenny Earhart. Key To Glory and Karla Massey took home third.

The riders in the Auxialliary Equitation Medal Class for Riders 12 to 17 displayed all of the top qualities a rider needs. Judge Whitehead called the class as each entry presented their horse with good posture and excellent showmanship. The gifted Rachel Jernigan received the first place tie in the class. Second place went to Leah Nobles and third tie was awarded to Jeren Guthrie.

A large class of twenty-four Yearling Fillies and Geldings were presented next. Judge Rollie Beard had the task of calling the class. After each entry had been presented both ways of the ring, they were parked out and for the inspection of the judges. A first place ribbon was then awarded to Kodachrome’s Annie Oakley and Bobby Richards. Larry and Susan Wood from Midway, Kentucky own the entry. The second place tie in the class was the entry of A Touch Of Jazz and Carlyle Johnson. Third award was presented to A Wind Storm and Robert Nelms.

Nine out of the nine entries expected answered the gate call for the third equitation class of the morning. The Senior Division is for riders 15 to 17 years old and was called by Judge Whitehead. After one entry was excused after losing a shoe, the eight entries that were left presented themselves at their best for the consideration of the judges. The blue ribbon was then awarded to Sarah Womack. Womack, a native of Murfreesburo, already has several equitation wins to her credit. Reserve award went to Rachel Pulley and finishing next with third was Kristian McElroy.

The large number of thirty-six entries in the Youth English Trail Pleasure class required the class to be split into two divisions. The first division contained eighteen entries and was called by judge Beard. The first place winners in the class were Olympic Angel and Jenna Hamilton. The skilled team already acquired a blue in the Youth Western Trail Pleasure division on Friday and proved that whether English or Western this team is hard to beat. Marilynn Staley Friedman owns the entry. Sundrop’s Cover Girl took second in the class with Hannah Shannon for Sandra Shannon. Third was received by He’s Forest Gump and Bethany Martocci for Rhonda Martocci.

Division B in the Youth English Trail Pleasure class sported eighteen entries. There was a brief pause in the class after one of the young riders was thrown from her horse. Show ring officials rushed to the aid of the girl and shortly after paramedics assisted the rider as she exited the ring. The audience lent their applause as the announcement came across that she was going to be fine. The class then resumed and the judges finalized their decisions.

The 2001 World Grand Champion Trail Pleasure mare, To Die For was selected for first place honors in the class. Shayna Shaw exhibited the fine mare and Janis Brown is the owner. The red ribbon was then awarded to Pay At The Pump and Lauren Shaw for Bill Marzinzik. Mr. Reach and Mathew McMurtrey received third for Darren and Rachel Gray.

The Owner Amateur Yearlings class was also split by the judges. Division A contained eighteen entries competeting for the blue. Each handler paraded their young horse for the approval of the judges. After parking out the entries were reviewed once more by the judging panel and audience. The blue in the first division was awarded to Olympic Titan and Rhoda Martocci. The talented yearling also received top honors earlier in the month at the 2002 International. Reserve in the class was Miss Jazzy and Chris Coffey. The yellow ribbon was awarded to Alias and Steven Wright.

First place in Division B went to the team of Kodachrome’s Annie Oakley and Larry Wood. This was the filly’s second blue of the day. The reserve tie in the division of eighteen entries was A Touch Of Jazz and Fred Benjamin. Strait Country received third with Brian Wright.

The final class of the day was the Yearling Colts of 2001 Foal. Twenty-three entries participated and made it a great class to finish the day with. First award was presented to All American Ritz and Marty Warren. Denise Smith is the owner. Reserve in the class was awarded to Pushover’s Moonbeam and Chris Richards for Mr. and Mrs. Charles Brantley. Third went to Mr. Jose Again and Robert Nelms for Buddy Bain.

There will be no day classes tommorrow as exhibitors and spectators are invited to attend church services at the Celebration grounds. Evening classes will resume at seven o’ clock with two splits of four-year-old stallions and two-year-old mares. It promises to be quite an evening.