The Prevent All Soring Tactics (PAST) Act continues to add co-sponsors.  Most recently the house version of the bill has added Mike Kelly (R_PA), Xavier Becerra (D-CA), Cedric Richmond (D-LA), Pedro Pierluisi (D-PR At Large), Maxine Waters (D-CA), David Schweikert (R-AZ), Paul Cook (R-CA), and Thomas Petri (R-WI).  The total number of co-sponsors of the house version introduced by Congressman Ed Whitfield (R-KY) now sits at 295.  The bill has 183 Democratic sponsors and 112 Republican sponsors.

The Senate version, introduced by Kelly Ayotte (R-NH) added Mark Pryor (D-AR) to bring the total in the Senate to 55.  The bill has 44 Democrats, 9 Republicans and two Independents.  There is competing legislation to both the House and Senate versions introduced by Congressman Marsha Blackburn (R-TN) and Senator Lamar Alexander (R-TN).

The five largest populated Walking Horse states are Tennessee, Kentucky, Alabama, Mississippi and North Carolina.  In the house these five states represent a total of 10 co-sponsors with the fifth state of North Carolina representing 7 of those 10.  Those 10 co-sponsors represent only 3% of the total yet those states represent 56% of the registered Walking Horses.

On the Senate version, only 1 of the 56 co-sponsors is represented by the five most populous Walking Horse States, Democrat Kay Hagan from North Carolina.