Skip to content

Ten Years Ago In December

By Sherry Clarneau
The year came to a close with the usual meetings and award banquets. The Tennessee Walking Horse Breeders’ and Exhibitors’ Association wound up the year with their annual meeting where past president Charles Gleghorn

passed the gavel to in-coming president Walt Chism. The other elected association officials for the new year were as follows; Steve Smith, first vice-president; Carroll Benedict, administrative/fiscal; Clay Harlin, Breeders; Grover Blaylock, enforcement; Tom Bohl, Horse Show; Bob

Hunnicutt, owners/exhibitors; Steve Wirts, pleasure; Bob Parks, sales/ promotion; Bill Bobo, training; Betty Freeman and Ben Downing, members at large; and Sharon Brandon, secretary/treasurer.

Chism discussed the two blood typing proposals and it was decided that, beginning on January 1, 1993, that all new foals must be blood typed.

Director Ronnie Spears voiced an opinion, shared by many, regarding the oversized registration certificate, that was currently in use. Consideration was made on this matter and later the idea was adapted resulting in the registration certificates in use today.

Bill Cantrell took the position as Walking Horse Trainers' Association (WHTA) president, while Ronnie Spears stepped down from the job. Other positions were filled as follows; Jimmy McConnell, first vice-president; Russ Thompson, second vice-president. Appointed to fill Cantrell's vacancy on the Board of Directors was Dick Peebles. Four new Board members were elected to a 3 year term; Wink Groover, Jamie Hankins, Benny Johnson and David Landrum.

The WHTA had every reason to be excited about their successful 1991 season. Their 1991 Money Tree Classic Horse Show was voted Reserve One Night Show of the year by the members of the WHTA. Kathy Dunn was reelected for a second term as president, Beth Thomas, first vice-president; Beverly Hickman, second vice-president; Michelle Lambert, secretary; Benita Caldwell, secretary/ treasurer.

The WHTA kicked off their banquet "Academy Awards" style! With a crowd of over 500 in attendance it was truly a night to remember, as they came together to honor the outstanding horses and dedicated people who had worked so hard that year.

As they presented the well-deserved awards Bill Carrington and Dr. Cliff Gillespie read a brief essay about each proud recipient in honor of their achievements.

Everyone's favorite, Bud Dunn, was named Trainer Of The Year. Accepting the award as Assistant Trainer Of The Year, for all of his consistent hard work was Danny Wooten. Art and Frances Barnes along with Vicki Self accepted the award for Aged Horse Of The Year for reining World Grand Champion, Flashy Pride.

Russ Thompson Stables walked away with the most honors with two winners and five reserves. Gen's Fire And Ice and Generator's Elegance were among their winners.

Netting the most winners for the evening was Ramsey Bullington Stables.

Top honors went to Jubilee's Rising Star, Spirit Of Darkness and Pride's Mr. Stride Away all from Bullington Stables'.

More Stories

  • An Interesting Year

    The year 2019 has been an interesting one to say the least. For the past several years we have produced an issue dedicated to reviewing the news of the year that has shaped the industry or changed it in some significant way... Read More
  • TWHBEA embraces change as new faces join the TWHBEA EC for 2020

    On the heels of Friday’s general membership meeting, the Tennessee Walking Horse Breeders’ & Exhibitors’ Association annual directors meeting mirrored yesterday’s meeting in tone and efficiency as about 70 of the group’s leaders gathered at 10 a.m. for a heavy load of business with the election serving as the pleasant shake-up of the day. Read More
  • Obituary – Claude Shiflet

    Claude Shiflet passed away today, December 7, with family at his side. The American Saddlebred Hall of Fame trainer was 87. He and his bride Alice had just celebrated their 67th anniversary the day before... Read More
  • Latest Issue 12 9 19

    Read More
  • Dr. Goldentyer to officially replace Juarez

    APHIS Administrator Kevin Shea sent the following letter to stakeholders announcing the selection of Dr. Betty Goldentyer as the permanent replacement for Bernadette Juarez. Initially Dr. Goldentyer had been named Acting Deputy Administrator but will not be permanent in the position... Read More
  • The new face of FAST: Fowler named Director of Advancement

    If her name sounds familiar it’s likely because she’s played a role in two important facets of the local community. A seasoned veteran in the media business with a heart for the horse, Sadie Fowler is now combining her unique skillset as the new face of FAST — the Foundation of Advancement and Support for the Tennessee Walking Show Horse. Read More
  • TWHBEA hosts succinct general membership meeting

    The Tennessee Walking Horse Breeders’ & Exhibitors’ Association (TWHBEA) held its annual general membership meeting at 1:00PM on Friday December 5, 2019.  In a change from previous years the standing committee reports were not given during this meeting and were held for presentation at Saturday’s International Board of Directors’ meeting. Read More
  • TWHBEA honors 2019 award recipients

    The Tennessee Walking Horse Breeders’ & Exhibitors’ Association held its annual awards banquet on Friday, Dec. 6 at the TWHBEA Headquarters in Lewisburg, Tennessee. The evening was kicked off with cocktails and hors d’oeuvres at 5:30 followed by dinner and awards presentations at 6:30... Read More
  • SHOW Judges’ Committee set for 2020

    The SHOW HIO recently approved the members of the 2020 Judges’ Committee. Following the 2019 show season two members of the committee rolled off per the committee’s guidelines. Jennifer Bingham, who was chair of the committee for the last several years and Doyle Meadows were the two members whose term expired in 2019.   Read More
  • Surrounded by horsepower

    An MTSU graduate is expanding her family’s multi-faceted business ventures which range from showing horses to owning NASCAR championship racing teams to developing real estate. Allison Thorson owns and manages ThorSport Farm on Barfield Crescent Road in Christiana. The 500-plus-acre farm has an indoor training facility and 80 stalls, plus countryside riding trails, she said... Read More