Skip to content

TWHBEA Nominating Commitee Issues Report

The nominating committee of the Tennessee Walking Horse Breeders’ and Exhibitors’ Association (TWHBEA), in order to comply with the Associations’ bylaws, is required to present its slate of officers to the TWHBEA Board of Directors prior to November 15 of each year.

The 2013-14 TWHBEA Slate of Officers

President: Steve Smith (TN)

Senior Vice President/Membership: Walt Chism (TN)

VP Admin/Fiscal/Audit: Christy Lantis (CA)

VP Breeders/Futurity: David Williams (TN)

VP Owner/Exhibitor/International: Denise Bader-Keyser (Germany)

VP Performance Horse: Ford Gates (AL)

VP Pleasure Horse: Jessica Hlebak (NC)

VP Marketing: Joyce Moyer (OH)

VP Training/Equine Welfare: Dr. Linda Montgomery (AL)

Member at Large By Laws/Enforcement: Tom Kakassy (NC)

Member at Large Youth: Sherry White (MI)

Secretary: Dee Dee Miller

The TWHBEA Executive Committee is required to appoint five people to serve on the nominating committee. These appointments must be made prior to October 1 of each year.

At its September 27th meeting, the executive committee appointed Joe Rankin, Stephen Brown, Dr. Linda Montgomery, Spencer Benedict and Mike Hicks to the nominating committee. The alternates, in order, included Tommy Hale, Bill Adams, Mick Salm and Nancy O’dell Plunkett.

The nominating committee initially met on Tuesday, November 12, but that meeting was deemed invalid according to TWHBEA’s legal counsel because of a procedural error regarding the use of alternates. Dr. Linda Montgomery had resigned from the nominating committee to pursue another term on the executive committee and the alternate chosen to replace her was not the first alternate as voted on by the executive committee.

Following that meeting, two more resignations were submitted and the nominating committee reconvened with Mike Hicks, Spencer Benedict, Tommy Hale (1st alternate), Bill Adams (2nd alternate) and Mick Salm (3rd alternate) comprising the group.

More Stories

  • Obituary - Kenneth Joseph Wulff

    Kenneth Joseph Wulff, 66, died Thursday, April 12, 2018 at his home. Born October 2, 1951 in Jefferson City, Missouri he was the son of the late Victor J. and Coletta (Werdenhause) Wulff. Ken graduated from the University of Missouri and worked as a loan officer for Movement Mortgage locally. Read More
  • WHT Auxiliary Scholarship

    The Walking Horse Trainers' Auxiliary has released their 2018 Scholarship information. Read More
  • Obituary - Joseph Martin Finch

    Joseph Martin Finch of Shelbyville, Tennessee passed away Tuesday April 3, 2018, surrounded by his family. Joe is survived by his wife Gail, his three daughters, Kim Withrow, Suzie Finch and Lisa McMahan, his three grandchildren, Joseph, Brooks and Max Withrow and his brother Bill Finch. In lieu of a funeral service, a Celebration of Life will be held for family and friends at the Blue-Ribbon Circle Club on the Celebration Show Grounds April 22nd from 1-4pm. All friends and family are invited. Read More
  • Latest Issue April 16 18

    Read More
  • Celebration selects Fun Show judges

    The Tennessee Walking Horse National Celebration has selected its judging panel for the 48th Annual Spring Fun Show to be held in Calsonic Arena May 24-26.  The judging panel of Jamie Hankins, David Sisk and Johnny Puckett is a blend of experience with a new face to Celebration judging. Read More
  • Gala Glitz

    The second annual FAST Gala was held Thursday evening, April 12 at the Blue Ribbon Circle in Shelbyville, Tennessee. Organizer Kathy Zeis, pictured with husband Steve, said she was pleased with the event. Zeis said there were more local people supporting this year’s event, the food was great, and horse industry folks enjoyed a chance to socialize... Read More
  • HSUS loses charity accreditation

    The Humane Society of the United States has lost its accreditation by the charity arm of the Better Business Bureau. This action follows the resignations, earlier this year, by former CEO Wayne Pacelle and vice president Paul Shapiro... Read More
  • AL Ladies Auxiliary selects Dekle

    The Alabama Ladies Auxiliary Show, scheduled for May 5, has selected Mack Dekle of Shelbyville, Tennessee to mark the cards for this year's event. The show will be held at the Celebration Arena in Priceville, Alabama. Read More
  • Columbia Spring Jubilee selects judging panel

    The Columbia Spring Jubilee, scheduled for May 31–June 2, has selected Jamie Bradshaw, Aaron Self and Brent Grider to mark the cards for this year’s event... Read More
  • Dotson attends Trump’s roundtable

    Walking horse owner Terry Dotson, who is also a passionate leader on behalf of the industry, attended a Presidential Roundtable on the recent GOP Tax Reform bill last week on behalf of Worldwide Equipment, of which he serves as the company’s CEO. Dotson was accompanied by the company’s director of human resources, Carla Stapleton. Read More