By Jeffrey Howard

Joel Weaver completed his quest for a three-peat in defending his Rider's Cup Trophy successfully for the second straigt year.  Weaver has now won back-to-back-to-back titles from 2006-2008.  Putting up the stiffest challenge in any of those years was runner-up Justin Harris, falling 260 points short of Weaver.

The 260 point margin heading into the final show proved too much for Harris to overcome.  Rounding out the top five were Link Webb, Charlie Green and Jimmy McConnell.  Green used a strong show this weekend to move into the fourth overall spot.  Knox Blackburn jumped one spot to sixth in the final show followed by Herbert Derickson, Chris Zahnd, Edgar Abernathy and Tim Smith.

Rider's Cup trophies and monies will be distributed at the annual Walking Horse Trainers' Association banquet on December 6, 2008 at the Franklin Marriott in Cool Springs.