Skip to content

WHOA Makes NHSC Appointments

Copyright WHR 2009

The Walking Horse Owners' Association (WHOA) has made its 2009 appointments to the National Horse Show Commission (NHSC).  Serving from WHOA in 2009 will be Frank Neal, David Pruett, Mark Farrar and Bob Medina.  Neal is currently the president of WHOA and Pruett is president of the Tennessee Walking Horse Breeders' & Exhibitors' Association.

Alternates for 2009 are Kim Bennett, Ernest Burke, Sarah Dunn and Deborah Williams.

The NHSC is a cooperative effort between WHOA and the Walking Horse Trainers' Association (WHTA).  The chairmanship of the NHSC in 2009 will be assumed by an appointment from the WHTA.  The chairmanship in 2008 was occupied by WHOA and began with Frank Neal until his resignation in August.  Both Neal and Pruett resigned over differences in the direction of the NHSC.  Farrar was appointed chairman for the remainder of 2008.

Link Webb, president of the NHSC will be responsible for appointing four trainers to the NSHC board, with one of these four serving as chairman.  In the past, the president has served in this role which makes Webb the likely choice to serve as chairman in 2009.

The NHSC is currently undergoing a restructuring which will include changes to the organizational structure of the NHSC.  An announcement should come soon regarding the new Executive Director, a position that became vacant upon Lonnie Messick's retirement.

More Stories

  • An Interesting Year

    The year 2019 has been an interesting one to say the least. For the past several years we have produced an issue dedicated to reviewing the news of the year that has shaped the industry or changed it in some significant way... Read More
  • TWHBEA elects first woman President

    A momentous and noteworthy occurrence in the history of the association’s storied existence – the first woman was elected President of the 84-year-old breed registry. Margo Urad, of Rockwall, TX, took the reins as the incoming top officer... Read More
  • TWHBEA embraces change as new faces join the TWHBEA EC for 2020

    On the heels of Friday’s general membership meeting, the Tennessee Walking Horse Breeders’ & Exhibitors’ Association annual directors meeting mirrored yesterday’s meeting in tone and efficiency as about 70 of the group’s leaders gathered at 10 a.m. for a heavy load of business with the election serving as the pleasant shake-up of the day. Read More
  • Obituary – Claude Shiflet

    Claude Shiflet passed away today, December 7, with family at his side. The American Saddlebred Hall of Fame trainer was 87. He and his bride Alice had just celebrated their 67th anniversary the day before... Read More
  • Latest Issue 12 9 19

    Read More
  • Dr. Goldentyer to officially replace Juarez

    APHIS Administrator Kevin Shea sent the following letter to stakeholders announcing the selection of Dr. Betty Goldentyer as the permanent replacement for Bernadette Juarez. Initially Dr. Goldentyer had been named Acting Deputy Administrator but will not be permanent in the position... Read More
  • The new face of FAST: Fowler named Director of Advancement

    If her name sounds familiar it’s likely because she’s played a role in two important facets of the local community. A seasoned veteran in the media business with a heart for the horse, Sadie Fowler is now combining her unique skillset as the new face of FAST — the Foundation of Advancement and Support for the Tennessee Walking Show Horse. Read More
  • TWHBEA hosts succinct general membership meeting

    The Tennessee Walking Horse Breeders’ & Exhibitors’ Association (TWHBEA) held its annual general membership meeting at 1:00PM on Friday December 5, 2019.  In a change from previous years the standing committee reports were not given during this meeting and were held for presentation at Saturday’s International Board of Directors’ meeting. Read More
  • TWHBEA honors 2019 award recipients

    The Tennessee Walking Horse Breeders’ & Exhibitors’ Association held its annual awards banquet on Friday, Dec. 6 at the TWHBEA Headquarters in Lewisburg, Tennessee. The evening was kicked off with cocktails and hors d’oeuvres at 5:30 followed by dinner and awards presentations at 6:30... Read More
  • SHOW Judges’ Committee set for 2020

    The SHOW HIO recently approved the members of the 2020 Judges’ Committee. Following the 2019 show season two members of the committee rolled off per the committee’s guidelines. Jennifer Bingham, who was chair of the committee for the last several years and Doyle Meadows were the two members whose term expired in 2019.   Read More