Skip to content

WHTA Nominating Committee Releases Potential Officers And Directors

Released from the WHTA

Dear W. H.T.A. Member:

Our 2015 Nominating Committee is composed of

Ross Campbell, Chairman, Scotty Brooks and Link Webb.  

The slate of officers and directors that have been chosen for your 

consideration are listed below:


PRESIDENT:  Billy Young

1st VP:  Bill Cantrell

2nd VP: Jamie Hankins


Herbert Derickson

Brandye Mills

Dale Watts

(Four positions will be filled)


The Directors whose terms expire on December 31,

2015, are Wayne Dean, Brandye Mills, Philip Trimble and Dale Watts.


Section 8 of the By-Laws provides:  At the annual 

meeting, any member may nominate from the floor a candidate 

for any office to be filled.


Our next scheduled General Membership meeting is 

FRIDAY, December 4, 2015 at the WHTA Headquarters at 11:00 AM. 


**Board of Directors meeting begins at 8:30 am – 9:30 am

Renewal of Trainers License/Membership will begin at 9:30 am – 10:30 am

and General Membership & Election meeting will begin at 11:00 am .**  

Meetings will be held at the OLD W.H.T.A. Headquarters, 

1101 N. Main St., Shelbyville, Tennessee.


W.H.T.A. OFFICE •P.O. Box 61•Shelbyville, TN  37162

Phone:  931/ 684-5866 • Fax:  931/ 684-5895

More Stories

  • Obituary - Jim Pace

    John James Pace, Jr. (Jim), 80, of Tusculum passed away peacefully on Thursday, November 16th. He was a member of First Presbyterian Church and a retired farmer, cattleman, and horseman... Read More
  • Equine Obituary - Pride's Lady Dia

    The Report has recently learned of the passing of Pride’s Lady Dia, affectionately known as Lady Dia. She passed away on November 8, 2017, at Blackwell Stables, her home for the past 20 years. Read More
  • Equine Obituary - Hard Texas Cash

    Hard Texas Cash, a stallion owned by Nancy Groover Hodges of Waco, Texas. passed away on Nov. 8, 2017 at the age of 24... Read More
  • Equine Obituary - Heart Attack's Fast Beat

    World champion Heart Attack’s Fast Beat passed away on November 7, 2017. The 22-year-old gelding was owned and loved by Danielle Ricker of Greeneville, Tennessee... Read More
  • Celebration Of Life for Doug Crawford

    Please join us for the CELEBRATION OF LIFE Honoring Doug Crawford on Friday, November 10, 2017 at the Celebration Blue Ribbon Circle in Shelbyville, Tenn, 7-10 pm. Casual Attire. Read More
  • WHOO grants now available

    Applications for the Walking Horses Overcoming Obstacles (WHOO) grants are available now. The Walking Horse Trainers' Auxiliary is proud to award grants to 501(c)3 facilities that use Tennessee Walking Horses for therapeutic advancements of less fortunate individuals.  Read More
  • UCWHA announces nominations for 2018

    The Nominating Committee for the Upper Cumberland Walking Horse Association has nominated the followingdirectors for three-year term... Read More
  • Equine Obituary - The Coach

    The Coach passed away on November 4, 2017. At the time of his death, the 13 year-old stallion was owned by Dr. Barbara and Sarah Moersch of Jacksonville, Ala... Read More
  • Obituary - Virginia Chism

    Virginia Biddle Chism, 77, of Arrington, Tennessee passed away November 6, 2017. She was a lifetime member of, and elected to the Board of Directors of, the Tennessee Walking Horse Breeders and Exhibitors Association... Read More
  • Obituary - Leona Kirby

    Leona Catherine Richey Kirby, 88, passed away Tuesday, Oct. 31, 2017, at Catawba Regional Hospice in Newton, North Carolina. She spent 25 years showing horses with her family across North Carolina, South Carolina, and Virginia. Leona and her husband, Floyd, also ran Tip-Top Stables together. Read More