Skip to content

WHTA Youth Council Headed For Another Successful Year!

The Walking Horse Trainers’ Association Youth Council held its annual meeting Dec. 4, 2004, at Franklin Marriott Cool Springs Convention Center during the WHTA Convention. President Maria Derickson presided over the meeting. New officers will be elected at the March 2005 meeting during the National Walking Horse Trainers’ Show.

The group donates $500 each year to Vanderbilt Children’s Hospital for toys and other needs. Members collected around $600 Friday evening during the truck giveaway. Another fund-raiser this season was the silent auction stud fee to 2004 World Grand Champion The Black Night Shade. Thanks to trainer Jimmy McConnell and owners Tom and Judy Waite, the money from the first stud fee to this great stallion will be donated to the Youth Group. The council discussed whether to continue the tack box giveaway at the Trainers’ Show. It was announced that the possibility of a yearling being donated would also help to raise funds.

The Council also decided to continue supporting the Youth Party Room at the Trainers’ Show on Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings. Candy Green stated that she and Charlie Green would provide the pizza each evening for the room.

It was also announced that there would be television coverage with interviews at the meeting at the Trainers’ Show.

Gifts for youth sponsor Jill Derickson, the officers and special awards included something for everyone in attendance. Derickson presented two special awards. She awarded Rachel Galeski the “making the extra effort award” and Amy Lambert the “taking the extra step” award for selling the most tickets.

The WHTA youth scholarship recipients were Lindsey Oliver and Jessica Day. Games were played after the meeting was adjourned.

This year the Youth Council had a two way tie for Member of the Year. The winners were Maria Derickson and Samantha Green. Marsha De Arriaga donated two riding suits to the winners.

Landon Head was awarded the WHTA Youth Council High Point Member of the Year Award in the Park Pleasure, 17 and Under division. Reserve was won by Samantha Green. The Lite-Shod Youth award was won by Samantha Green while Jared Carrier earned the reserve spot. In the Performance division, the High Point Youth 11 and Under Member of the Year was awarded to Rachel Hyneman. The reserve award was claimed by Shelby “Bo” Beam. Claiming the WHTA Youth Council 12-17 High Point Member of the Year was Kathryn Ramsbottom. Marie Derickson received the reserve high point trophy.

The next meeting will be held in March, 2005, during the Trainers’ Show. The Council encourages everyone to invite new members to the meetings and to participate in the classes. Any youth 17 and under, who is interested, may join the Youth Council, which was formed to support the youth of the walking horse industry.

More Stories

  • Walking In The Smokies stall deadline approaching

    The Walking In The Smokies Horse Show, scheduled for April 8-10, 2021, in Pigeon Forge, Tennessee is preparing for their first annual show and would like to send a reminder to anyone needing stalls that the deadline is March 15. Please contact Lexi Stinnett at 828-550-8520 to reserve stalls on the show grounds. Read More
  • Trainers' Show announces judges

    The Walking Horse Trainers’ Association National Trainers’ Show will be held at Calsonic Arena in Shelbyville, Tenn. March 18-20, 2021. Judges for the three-day event will be Wayne Dean, Newton Parks and Johnny Puckett. Read More
  • USDA prepares for 2021 show season

    The USDA recently conducted their virtual HIO training course for the 2021 show season. The USDA and industry recently received the final report from the National Academies of Sciences (NAS) and some of the recommendations in that report are communicated in the new processes the USDA will implement in 2021... Read More
  • WHOA hosts virtual awards ceremony

    On Saturday. February 20th, the Walking Horse Owners’ Association (WHOA) held their National High Point awards for 2020 on their WHOA Facebook page with winners who chose to be zooming in to accept their awards... Read More
  • WHOA to host virtual awards ceremony on February 20

    The Walking Horse Owners’ Association (WHOA) will recognize their award winners from the 2020 show season during a virtual awards ceremony on Saturday, February 20, 2021. The show will be broadcast live on WHOA’s Facebook page beginning at 6 pm central time. Read More
  • FAST Spring Showcase announces judging panel

    The FAST Spring Showcase is pleased to announce that John Fikes, Newton Parks and Sam Sorrell will judge this years’ two-day event. The show will be held at Calsonic Arena in Shelbyville, Tenn. April 16-17, 2021... Read More
  • Obituary – Kimberly Woods

    Kimberly Lynn Woods, age 47 departed this life on Sunday, February 14, 2021 at the University of Kentucky Medical Center in Lexington, Kentucky... Read More
  • WHAA annual barn party rescheduled due to inclement weather

    There will be a lot of great items to auction as well as breeding fees to some of the top stallions in the industry and training fees for many of the top trainers. Everyone is encouraged to bring your young horses to preview for the upcoming show season. Read More
  • Birth Announcement – William Jackson Bauer

    Dr. & Mrs. Will  Bauer of Gainesville, Georgia welcomed their first child, William Jackson Bauer, on December 4, 2020. Jack weighed 7 pounds, 2 ounces at birth... Read More
  • Equine Obituary – Master's Razzle and Jazz

    The Walking Horse Community and the Alan Riddley Family lost Master’s Razzle And Jazz, the reigning 2020 World Grand Champion, on Friday, February 5, 2021, due to complications of colic. Master’s Razzle And Jazz, affectionately known as “Lurch”, will forever be remembered by his gentle ways, powerful gait and his eye-catching presence. Read More