Skip to content

Awards Time In Wisconsin

Posted January 11, 2001

by Jean S. Baum

ASHIPPUN, Wis. - The annual awards banquet and election for members of the Wisconsin Walking Horse Association took place on the second Saturday in November at the Maple Inn.

The event draws the largest crowd of the year to enjoy the results of a year of showing and hard work. Outgoing president Dick Baer honored a motion to dispense with the business meeting and move on to elections.

Three new members are elected each year for a three-year term. Elected this year were Kricket Jewett, Rebecca Hillen and Bill Mayfield. Elected as officers were president, Roger Fahey; vice president, Peggy Butler; secretary, Donnell Shetter; and treasurer, Bill Mayfield. Remaining board members are Scott Bennett, Renee Stasiewicz and Tom Kakac.

Winners of the high point awards follow, but four special awards deserve special mention. High Point Horse of the Year went to Ideal's Carbon Gray, the good little gray gelding known as Boomer who belongs to Lynne and Gary Levy. At the age of 19, Boomer is a classic horse who won 10 high point awards this year. It is not unusual for him to be entered in 12 to 16 classes per show.

The June Mist Versatility Award in the youth category went to Amanda Huebner and Black Cloud Miss QB. In the adult category Kim Sizer and Bum's Dynamite earned the honor.

Other multiple winners in the spotlight were Gold Coin Hero and Kim Leonard, winners of four high point awards and Generator's Coal Dust who won three. Generator's Coal Dust is owned by Sue and Dillon Schulz and shown and handled by Lori Greenwood.

The Club Appreciation Award is given to members whose involvement is outstanding. This year the award went to the deserving couple George and Shella Thompson. The THompsons have held one of the WWHA's shows at their facility for the past 20 years or longer.

More Stories

  • Yoho announces retirement from Congress

    Rep. Ted Yoho (R-FL-3) announced he will not seek reelection and will retire from Congress in January 2021.  Yoho pledged to only serve four terms and that eight-year run will conclude at the end of this 116th Congress... Read More
  • KWHA honors all HIOs

    The Kentucky Walking Horse Association, KWHA, is a high point Association that puts on The Kentucky Celebration and a yearly awards banquet. Affiliation for KWHA will be sent out in early January to show managers... Read More
  • An Interesting Year

    The year 2019 has been an interesting one to say the least. For the past several years we have produced an issue dedicated to reviewing the news of the year that has shaped the industry or changed it in some significant way... Read More
  • TWHBEA elects first woman President

    A momentous and noteworthy occurrence in the history of the association’s storied existence – the first woman was elected President of the 84-year-old breed registry. Margo Urad, of Rockwall, TX, took the reins as the incoming top officer... Read More
  • Birth Announcement – Lane Cooper Price

    Lane Cooper Price was born Sunday, November 3, 2019, to Nice Price and Molli Hobgood of Fairmount, Georgia. He weighed 7 pounds 5 ounces and was 21 inches long. Proud grandparents are Alan and Cindy Price and Kerry and Penny Hobgood. Nick is trainer at Price Stables and Molli teaches 3rd grade in Fairmount, Georgia.  Read More
  • TWHBEA embraces change as new faces join the TWHBEA EC for 2020

    On the heels of Friday’s general membership meeting, the Tennessee Walking Horse Breeders’ & Exhibitors’ Association annual directors meeting mirrored yesterday’s meeting in tone and efficiency as about 70 of the group’s leaders gathered at 10 a.m. for a heavy load of business with the election serving as the pleasant shake-up of the day. Read More
  • Obituary – Claude Shiflet

    Claude Shiflet passed away today, December 7, with family at his side. The American Saddlebred Hall of Fame trainer was 87. He and his bride Alice had just celebrated their 67th anniversary the day before... Read More
  • Latest Issue 12 9 19

    Read More
  • Dr. Goldentyer to officially replace Juarez

    APHIS Administrator Kevin Shea sent the following letter to stakeholders announcing the selection of Dr. Betty Goldentyer as the permanent replacement for Bernadette Juarez. Initially Dr. Goldentyer had been named Acting Deputy Administrator but will not be permanent in the position... Read More
  • The new face of FAST: Fowler named Director of Advancement

    If her name sounds familiar it’s likely because she’s played a role in two important facets of the local community. A seasoned veteran in the media business with a heart for the horse, Sadie Fowler is now combining her unique skillset as the new face of FAST — the Foundation of Advancement and Support for the Tennessee Walking Show Horse. Read More