SHELBYVILLE, Tenn. – The Tennessee Walking Horse National Celebration has named nine individuals to three-year terms on the Celebration’s Advisory Council.

The Celebration Advisory Council meets two-to-three times per year to advise the Celebration Board of Directors and CEO on matters of interest within the Tennessee Walking Horse industry and the Celebration.

New members selected to three-year terms that expire in 2006 include Billy Ball (TN), Herschel Blessing (TN), Anita George (KY), Suzy Johnson (TN), Bob Lawrence (AL), Georgia Lunsford (KY), Jim Nichols (TN), Iris Schumann (TN) and Gorden Timmons (SC).

Advisory Council members in the second year of three-year terms that expire in 2005 are Janice Fostek (VA), Milly Player (SC), Jeff Ray (OR), Dee Dee Sale (TN) and Mike Walden (TN).

Five members of the council are in the final year of their three-year terms. They are Larry Davis (VA), Stuart Gibbs (OK), Bruce Lovato (UT), Patty Marek (TN) and Karen Marriott (TN).

“We welcome the new members to our Advisory Council and thank our returning members for their continued service,” said Celebration CEO Ron Thomas. “The commitment made by all of these individuals is a testament to their support of the industry and of The Celebration.”

While The Celebration’s Board of Directors and Association are constituted of Bedford Countians, the Advisory Council is made up of individuals from different areas of the country.

“The diversity of this group gives it its strength,” continued Thomas. “These 19 individuals represent eight of the top states for our industry. We welcome their ideas and suggestions that can only make our industry stronger and our show even better.”

The next meeting for the Celebration Advisory Council will be during The Spring Fun Show in May.