Editor’s Note: Charles E. Gavin III is a well known and widely respected breeder, as well as, a member of the Tennessee Walking Horse Breeder’s Association. The following article recognizes him for his many accomplishments.

In recognition for his outstanding service to the Association, AATCC has named Charles E. Gavin III this year’s recipient of The Harold C. Chapin Award.

Gavin, a native of Columbus, Georgia, holds a BS from Auburn University, and a MBA from the University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill.

He began his textile career in 1959 as a shift dyer and became superintendent of carpet dyeing at Cabin Craft Inc. Gavin became plant manager and superintendent of carpet dyeing for Rossville Carpet Dyeing in 1963, then went on to become laboratory manager and technical service manager for Allied Chemical Corporation in 1965. He joined Columbus Mills in 1967, as superintendent of dyeing, then became manager of chemical services, manager of carpet manufacture, director of research and development, and finally vice-president of carpet manufacturing.

Under Gavin’s direction, the first acid dyed carpet product line was developed and marketed at Columbus Mills as an improved replacement for disperse dyes. “The market soon followed our lead and the dyeing of carpet was changed forever.”

Gavin joined Coronet Mills Inc. in 1979 as vice-president and director of dyeing. In 1980, he formed, MFG Chemical Inc., in Dalton, Georgia, to serve as a supplier to the carpet industry, offering consulting and resale of chemical products and dyes. MFG moved to full scale manufacturing in 1985 with the installation of a series of high pressure glass-lined reactors to produce a full like of chemical products and later spun off its dyes into a separate company. Textile Colors Inc., which was then sold to a major dye company. Today MFG produces a wide range of surfactants and polymers in two manufacturing plants in Dalton, Georgia. Gavin serves as Chair of the Board for MFG.

AATCC Activities

A member of AATCC since joining the student chapter in 1958, he has served with great distinction at the national and local section levels. Gavin served as President of the Association from 1999-2000. He was Councilor of the Southeastern section in 1978-79, 1992-94, and 1997-98. Gavin was a judge of the International Technical Paper and the Student Paper Competitions. He was a speaker at the 1986 IC&E. He represented the Executive Committee at the Society of Dyers & Colourists’ (SDC) Centennial Celebration in 1984. Gavin served as Chair and vice-chair of the AATCC Foundation and was its first contributor.

He has served as Chair of the Appropriations Committee, the Study Committee on Employee Benefits, and the Constitution & Bylaws Committee.

He has been a member of the Strategic Planning Committee. Gavin has also served on the Global Interaction Committee, the Executive Committee of the Council, the Executive Committee on Research, the Technical Committee on Research, the Corporate Membership Committee, the Building & Grounds Committee, the History & Archives Committee, the Committee on Conferences, the Textile Education Committee, The Constitution & Bylaws Committee, the Subjects & Speakers Bureau, the Retirement Plan Administration Committee, the Intersectional Technical Paper Committee, the Harold C. Chapin Award Committee, the Olney Medal Award Committee, and the Henry E. Millson Award for Invention Committee. Gavin has served on the Publications Committee and was active in the acquisition of American Dyestuff Reporter.

On the local level, he has served the Association in the South Central, Piedmont, and Southeastern Sections. He has served as Section Chair, Section Vice-Chair, Section Treasurer, Section Secretary, Sectional Committeeman, Section meeting speaker, and as Student Chapter Liaison for Auburn University. Gavin was active on the IC&E Planning Committee for the 1976 and 1986 AATCC International Conference and Exhibitions that were held in Atlanta, Georgia. He was also recognized by the Southeastern Section with a Blue Jacket service award in 1997 for “dedicated and unselfish service” - one of only four Southeastern Section members ever recognized with this award.

Personal Data

Gavin and his wife, the former Carol Ann Hart, live on Belle Meadow Farm in Wartrace, Tennessee. They have three children: Tamara Ann Gavin Kasser, Charles E. Gavin IV, and A. Todd Gavin. They also have four grandchildren: Gillian Kasser, Connor Kasser, Gavin Kasser, and Mason Gavin.

Gavin has been active in civic and social clubs. He is a member of the Society of Dyers and Colourists (SDC), and also a member of the Pi Kappa Phi Fraternity and the Phi Psi (Textile Honorary) Fraternity.

In recognition for extraordinary contributions to Hamilton Medical Center, the Whitfield Heathcare Foundation named Gavin a Westcott Fellow. He established the Charles E. Gavin III Textile Chemistry Scholarship at Auburn University in 1997 through the Alabama Textile Education Foundation and has also presented scholarship funds to the University of Georgia.

Gavin is also a member of the Tennessee Walking Horse Breeders and Exhibitors Association, is active in breeding and showing Tennessee Walking horses, and has raised a World Grand Champion and several Champions. In addition he enjoys gardening, golf, reading, cattle farming, and travel.

The Chapin Award

The Chapin Award was established in 1958 in honor of the late Dr. Harold C. Chapin, professor of chemistry at Lowell Textile School, who served as national secretary of AATCC for nearly 25 years. Dr. Chapin was a contemporary of Dr. Louis Atwell Olney, founder and first president of AATCC, who was head of the chemistry department at Lowell Textile when AATCC was organized in 1921.