GAINESVILLE, Geor. - On Saturday, July 20, 2002, the Georgia Ladies Auxiliary held their traditional GWHLA Horse Show in Gainesville, Georgia at the Agri-Center. Melissa Pless was the horse show manager and she kept the show running as smoothly as possible. Mrs. Leigh Bennett of Kentucky did a fine job judging the 34 class event, while Mr. Thurman Walden, Manchester, Tennessee, kept the crowd entertained from his microphone. Mr. Marty McCool took care of the photography needs and Mr. Earl Cooper took care of the Ring Master duties.

At the end of the night, I’m Twice The Delight and Larry Edwards were crowned the 2002 GWHLA Horse Show Stake Champions. The owners of this talented entry are Lloyd and Mary Touchton. Reserve in this spectacular class was Pusher’s Blizzard and Bill Cantrell for Frank Shelton.

Carl Edwards and Sons Stables collected the most blues at the show, coming to a total of five blue ribbons. They collected four more blues not including the stake class win. First on their tally of blues was capturing the Juvenile 11 and Under division. Gen’s Sundance Lady and Maisie McSwain made the winning ride for the Dan McSwain family. Reserve in the extraordinary class went to Pusher’s Twist Of Fate and Magen Chastain for Mark Chastain.

In the Three-Year-Old Open division, Larry rode Bright Star’s Cash Flow to the blue ribbon circle for Dr. Barbara Moersch. Reserve in this class went to Pushing For Recall and Bobby Kellett for Bobby Kellett Stables. Larry was also seen in the winner’s circle in the Two-Year-Old Mares and Geldings division. This time Larry was aboard Melancholy Jubilee for Poverty Acres. Reserve went to She’s A Coin Thief and Anthony Moore for Jerry Brown.

Bobby Mixon rode under the Edwards Stables banner and earned a blue aboard Special Ultra Copy owned by Bobby and Linda Mixon. Reserve honors went to Immortal Time and Sarah Moersch for owner Dr. Barbara Moersch.

Ken Moore Stables earned three blues at the Gainesville show. The first blue to leave the ring under the Ken Moore Stables banner was Kennedy Mountain Star in the Two-Year-Old Open division with owner, Danny Rylee, in the irons. Reserve in this division went to Teflon Don and Kelli Rorick for Donald Harrison. Christy Cain and Gen’s Secret Warrior collected the second blue for Ken Moore Stables in the Juvenile 12-17 Specialty class. Reserve honors went to Tickle Me Pink and Ashley Allen for the Keith Allen family. Danny Rylee brought the third blue for the Moore banner out in the Men’s Specialty division. He was aboard Neiman Marcus for owner Carol Frankum-Rylee.

Alan Price Stables received two blues in Gainesville. The first blue was in the Two-Year-Old Open Stallion class. Alan Price rode Paging Willie to the winner’s circle for owner Walter Langdon. Reserve honors went to Fierce Allegiance and Carl Bledsoe for R and R Farms. The second blue collected by Alan Price Stables was in the Four-Year-Old Open division. Alan rode Malpractice to a blue for Linda Holsomback. Reserve in the class went to Pusher’s Time To Bust and Bill Cantrell for Eddie Williams.

The Horse House and trainer Carl Bledsoe collected two blues in Gainesville. ET’s Mackenzie and Joseph Walls claimed the blue in the TWHBEA Medallion class for owners Glenn Rinehart and Norma Lynn Bledsoe. Sarah Allen and The Twilight Zone collected the second blue for the Horse House in the Plantation Pleasure Juvenile Lite Shod class for the Keith Allen family. Reserve in the class went to Smokey Topaz and Maisie McSwain for the Dan McSwain family.

Red Eagle Farms collected two blues in Gainesville as well. Strike It Rich and Joe Dixon started off Red Eagle’s winning streak in the Park Pleasure Western Specialty for owners Randall and Gloria Dixon. Reserve in this class went to Mo Shame On Me and Carl Bledsoe for Becky Teal. The second blue Red Eagle picked up was in the Park Pleasure Amateur Specialty division. Clint Dixon rode Fully Armed to the winner’s circle for Randall and Gloria Dixon. Reserve honors went to JFK’s Carolina Lady and Bobby Mullinax for Billy King.

Rolling Hills Farm and trainer Drew Graves carried home two Gainesville blues back to Jacksonville, Alabama. Sarah Moersch rode Generator’s Aladdin to the Ladies Amateur Specialty Champion title for Dr. Barbara Moersch. Reserved in the class went to He’s Elite and Carol Frankum-Rylee for Carol and Danny Rylee. Kaye Dempsey and Major’s Magic Horizon claimed the blue in the Four-Year-Old Amateur division for Bruce and Kaye Dempsey. Reserve in the class went to Generator On Broadway and Yvette Studdan for Larry Studdan.

Bill Cantrell Stables received two blues to be carried back to Phenix City, Alabama. Their first blue was earned in 15.2 and Under Amateur Specialty class with Pride’s Flashy Girl and Elaine Doxey for Richard and Elaine Doxey. Reserve in the class went to Ultra Vision and Lynn Barnes for William and Lynn Barnes. The second blue collected by Cantrell Stables was in the 50 and Over Specialty class. The blue was picked up by ICU Watching and Linda Roy for Bob and Linda Roy. Reserve honors went to Oh Man and Joy Vaught.

Carlton House Stables from Chattanooga, Tennessee carried two blues back to the Volunteer State. Their first blue came in the Open Specialty division. Carlton House rode A Touch Of Fantasia to the winner’s circle for Stewards Nursery. Reserve in the class was Pulley Pusher and Tim Hicks for Bobby Kellett Stables. The second blue came from the GWHLA Members Specialty class. Angela House rode Exactly Like Papa to the blue for the Bill Ball family. Reserve honors went to Pusher’s Rainy Day Woman and Becky Mullis for Noddinghead Farms.

Findley Farms and trainer Chris Kelley received two blues in Gainesville. In the Park Pleasure Juvenile division, Chris’ daughter, Kristy Kelley rode Generator’s Dark Side to the winner’s circle for Pat Malone. Reserve in this class went to JFK’s Carolina Lady and Chase Mullinax for Billy King. Chris Kelley and Illusive Threat claimed the Park Pleasure Open Specialty title for Chris Kelley Stables. Reserve honors went to Ultra’s Pilgrim Delight and Floyd Butler.

Single blue ribbon winners include: Hulsey Stables, Henry James Stables, Kenny Poplin, Monty Howton, Mary Ann Arflin, Noddinghead Farms, and Colonel Paul Walker.