Skip to content

El Nino Blew ‘Em Away At Belfast

by Linda Scrivner

BELFAST, Tenn. – Known as the “Walkway to the Celebration,” the Belfast Lions Club Horse Show is always held the first Friday night in August. Many great horses have shown here and gone on to wear the roses at the Celebration. This show was dedicated to the memory of Mike Civils.

This year, the 48th annual Belfast Horse Show, held Aug. 1, 2008, also had USDA officials present as they have been for the last four years. The horses shown were excellent and there was only two violations written by the NHSC DQPs.

Judge Billy Young marked the classes in the 27-class event. The proceeds from this horse show support projects in Belfast and Marshall County, such as eyeglasses and exams for the needy and street lighting for the community. The Belfast Lions Club also makes regular donations to the Lions White Can Fund and the Marshall County Child Development Center.

The Ferguson Farms WHTA Riders’ Cup Walking Horse Stake class trophy was awarded to World Grand Champion Santana’s El Nino and Link Webb for Michael and Ann Jones. El Nino previously won the East Tennessee Classic Stake and the Money Tree Classic Stake and is undefeated this season. The entire Link Webb Stables team was pleased with this victory. He also appeared to be the crowd favorite as the audience cheered loudly for him when he passed the judge. Reserve was awarded to the team of The Who and Jimmy McConnell for Molly Walters, and Jeff Green and General’s Show Stopper received the yellow streamer for Brad Murrath.

Joe Fleming Stables led the blue ribbon tally with three Belfast blues just as they did last year. Doug Barnes Stables, David Landrum Stables and Nathan Mills each claimed two blues. The remaining blues were won by Derickson Training Facility, Spender Benedict Stables, Joel Weaver of Rising Star Stables, Chris Richards, Buzzard View Stables, Jason Day Stables, Charlie Green Stables, Latham Stables, Rae Martin Stables, Jack Way of Five Way Farm, Sonny Holt Stables, Jimmy Norris of Pollack’s Silver Spur Ranch, Steve Dunn Stables, Joe Martin Stables, Andy Adkins and Link Webb Stables. There were 20 different stables or individuals returning home with Belfast Blues.

Complete results may be viewed by clicking here.

More Stories

  • Southern Championship relocates for 2021

    For many years the Georgia Walking Horse Exhibitors Association has sponsored and operated the Southern Championship Charity Horse Show... Read More
  • Latest Issue WHYIR 20

    Read More
  • Latest Issue 3 1 31

    Read More
  • Walking In The Smokies stall deadline approaching

    The Walking In The Smokies Horse Show, scheduled for April 8-10, 2021, in Pigeon Forge, Tennessee is preparing for their first annual show and would like to send a reminder to anyone needing stalls that the deadline is March 15. Please contact Lexi Stinnett at 828-550-8520 to reserve stalls on the show grounds. Read More
  • Trainers' Show announces judges

    The Walking Horse Trainers’ Association National Trainers’ Show will be held at Calsonic Arena in Shelbyville, Tenn. March 18-20, 2021. Judges for the three-day event will be Wayne Dean, Newton Parks and Johnny Puckett. Read More
  • USDA prepares for 2021 show season

    The USDA recently conducted their virtual HIO training course for the 2021 show season. The USDA and industry recently received the final report from the National Academies of Sciences (NAS) and some of the recommendations in that report are communicated in the new processes the USDA will implement in 2021... Read More
  • WHOA hosts virtual awards ceremony

    On Saturday. February 20th, the Walking Horse Owners’ Association (WHOA) held their National High Point awards for 2020 on their WHOA Facebook page with winners who chose to be zooming in to accept their awards... Read More
  • WHOA to host virtual awards ceremony on February 20

    The Walking Horse Owners’ Association (WHOA) will recognize their award winners from the 2020 show season during a virtual awards ceremony on Saturday, February 20, 2021. The show will be broadcast live on WHOA’s Facebook page beginning at 6 pm central time. Read More
  • FAST Spring Showcase announces judging panel

    The FAST Spring Showcase is pleased to announce that John Fikes, Newton Parks and Sam Sorrell will judge this years’ two-day event. The show will be held at Calsonic Arena in Shelbyville, Tenn. April 16-17, 2021... Read More
  • Obituary – Kimberly Woods

    Kimberly Lynn Woods, age 47 departed this life on Sunday, February 14, 2021 at the University of Kentucky Medical Center in Lexington, Kentucky... Read More