The show year has concluded, the points have been tabulated and the high-point banquet for the Southwest Missouri Horse Show Association was underway. The meeting and banquet were held at the Holiday Inn-North, Springfield, Missouri on February 15 for the members representing the multi-breed association. This was the final high point awards banquet in Missouri honoring horses and exhibitors of this multi-breed association. Walking horses, Missouri Foxtrotters and Arabians were presented with an array of awards in the slate of classes.

President Dr. Lynn Posenke began the annual banquet with a business meeting and election of officers for the 2003 show season. Glenda Nichols will serve as the new president, and Susie Graham will continue as secretary-treasurer for the coming year. Floyd Posenke will serve as President-elect for 2004. The new board members elected were Angie Kirk, Jay Teaford and Jill Wait. The 2003 horse show was the main topic of discussion, and Patty Ayers volunteered to serve as the show chairman for the show.

Each year members donate items to be auctioned as a fund-raiser for the coming show season, and this year members were very generous in both their donation and their bidding. A total of $845 was raised in a short period of time, and many thank you’s were extended to Ed and Darlene Swaringim for their donation of a three-day condominium stay in Branson. Mrs. Glen Campbell was also graciously thanked for her high bidding on this mini-vacation.

With the weather outside turning bad and ice beginning to accumulate, it was on to the awards. Gypsy Lane Dusty Maid, the roan walking mare proudly owned and presented by Steve and Karen Skopec, was once again the recipient of the Overall High Point Champion for points earned in the Two-Gait Plantation Pleasure. This is Gypsy’s third time to win the coveted title and retires the engraved clock as well as a lead crystal decanter set. Gypsy and Steve were also presented with awards for Plantation Pleasure Two-Gait, Walking Horse Lead Line, Amateur Owned and Trained Two-Gait and Amateur Plantation Pleasure Two-Gait. Steve and Karen accepted these awards announcing that Gypsy won’t be seen in the show ring this year, as she is in foal.

Jerry Manes Stables of Stoutland, MO had reason to celebrate with honors won by horses under this banner. My Horse Showtime, owned by Rosalie Jones and Marvelene Kusewitt, won the Juvenile Lite Shod, Lite Shod Two-Gait and Lite Shod Western Two-Gait. Coin’s Etched in Gold, also owned by Jones and Kusewitt received top honors in the Yearling division. Richard and Sarah Mitch’s Diamonds and Cash received Four-Year-Old Amateur high point honors.

Jess and Zahn Morrison were certainly both proud of their trophies. Good Fortune and Jess were named high point champions in the Pony Lead Line Division with the help of mom and dad, June Clark and Rick Morrison. Zahn and President’s Moon Dancer received the crystal trophy for Juvenile 11 and Under. Jim Huffman of Ozark prepares this team. Donna and Jim Huffman were no strangers to the camera flash with their string of young horses once again wining top honors: Victory Colors, Two-Year-Old Walking Horse, Cash Is Good as Three-Year-Old Walking Horse and Hydro Generator for the Three-Year-Old Amateur division. Thorncrest’s Cat Man Do received the Four-Year-Old Horse title for Karen McKinnis and Ron Boyer.

Making several trips to the presentation area was the Nichols family. Coin’s Smooth Operator and Bradley Nichols were victorious in the Juvenile 17 and Under Specialty class as well as the Walking Mares and Geldings. Glenda Nichols and Dixie Jubilee received honors for the Amateur Specialty, Ladies Amateur Specialty and Amateur Owned and Trained classes. Brian Nichols and Eclectic were division winners in the Open Amateur and Men’s Amateur classes. Owner Mrs. Glen Campbell was on hand to celebrate these awards with her family. Caretaker’s Image, owned by Campbell Ford-Mercury of Ozark, was named high point horse for the Plantation Pleasure Three-Gait and Western Plantation Pleasure.

Jill Wait made the long trip from Iowa to receive the awards for her horse, Stormy’s Applejack. Ladies Amateur Walking Horse and 50 and Over Amateur divisions were presented to her and trainer Tom Burton of Strafford. Darlene and Ed Swaringim received top honors for Mark the Time, Amateur Show Pleasure Specialty Champion. Pusher’s Lady On The Loose and Carol Middleton were Two-Year-Old Amateur division winners under the direction of Mike Maack.

Three and Under Plantation Pleasure Division winners were American Revolution and Stephen Ayers. Georgia Swicegood and Shaker’s Mr. Threat came out on top once again in the Amateur Lite Shod Two-Gait. Men’s Amateur Specialty Walking Horse went to Dr. Glenn DeGraffenreid for his performances on Magic Impression. Anderson Nettleship traveled from Arkansas to receive awards for Command With Pride, Park Pleasure Two-Gait Champion.

Open Walking Horse High Point Champion was bestowed on Dark Spirit’s Absolute and Tom Burton for owners Jim and Sherry Hill. Playin’ For Keeps received honors in the Weanling division for the Maack Stables and JJ’s American Buck and Jay Teaford were named Open Model Champions.

Tokens of appreciation were given to 2002 President Dr. Lynn Posenke and Susie Graham for their hard work and dedication to the association. A brief show committee meeting was held following the award ceremony, proving the participants of the SMHSA are eager to get into the show ring for the 2003 season.