Skip to content

High Point Champions Honored At Mid-South Banquet

JACKSON, Tenn.- The Mid-South Horse Show Association held its annual high point awards banquet on February 1, 2003 at the University of Tennessee Agriculture Experiment Station in Jackson, Tennessee. A social hour was held at 5:00 p.m. Banquet guests enjoyed fellowship along with the delicious appetizers prepared by Just One Catering.

The banquet began at 6:00 p.m. Steve Shelton, president of the Mid-South Horse Show Association was master of ceremonies. A buffet dinner was served to a large crowd of nearly 200. Following the meal, entertainment was provided by “Elvis” impersonator Jackie Howard.

A brief business meeting was conducted by Steve Shelton. He welcomed members and guests of the association. A report was given on the status of the annual Mid-South Walking Horse Show held in July. Proceeds from this event benefited Operation Hope in Jackson, Tennessee. Bruce Hussey presented the association with an award of special recognition in appreciation for being “Friends Of Hope.”

The 2003 horse show calendar was presented and the show chairmen present at the banquet announced their show dates. Bob Trimble presided over the election of new board members. Newly elected board members are Beth Henderson, Gary Lunsford, Phillip Lay, and Carol Robinson. They join remaining board members L.H. Gaines, Camille Akin, Joe Clift, Bob Trimble, and Kitty Herndon. Retiring members Jane Sandlin, Tammy Bunch, and Shea Woods received recognition for their years of dedication and service to the Mid-South Horse Show Association. Officers for the coming year are Steve Shelton, president; Verner Smith, vice president; Renita Trimble, secretary; and Carol Shelton, treasurer.

Kristin Williams will represent the Mid-South Horse Show Association at the Germantown Charity Horse Show in June as princess.

The first awards of the evening were the recognition of World Champions. These awards are given to the Mid-South members who are owners of current world champions. High point and reserve high point awards were presented in 32 categories followed by the presentation of voted awards. A complete list of all awards follows.

More Stories

  • Latest Issue September 24 18

    Read More
  • A Mighty Strong Finish

    Going into the coveted World Grand Championship class Saturday night, Sept. 1, the field was somewhat wide-open for contenders riding for the biggest prize of the show. The preliminaries had given several horses a chance to shine, a few surprises emerged, and the judges were spread out with their opinions throughout the week, as was the crowd, demonstrating stiff competition. Read More
  • Oxford, NC show rescheduled

    North Carolina's PPWHANC Show scheduled for Oxford,N.C. on September 15th has been rescheduled; the new show date is September 29th with the same class schedule as previously presented.  Read More
  • #900 never to return to Celebration competition

    At the 79th anniversary of the Tennessee Walking Horse National Celebration, Bill Callaway and Gen’s Black Maverick rode into the ring on the last Saturday night to a roar of applause and cheering, and they exited the ring in the same fashion as they claimed the title of 2017 Tennessee Walking Horse World Grand Champion... Read More
  • Obituary – Pat Kirk

    Pat Kirk, 89, of Purdy, Missouri entered into eternal rest on Tuesday September 11, 2018 while at Cox South Hospital in Springfield, Missouri.  Read More
  • Obituary - Burl Dale

    The Report has recently learned of the sudden passing of Burl Dale on September 18, 2018. A Memorial Service will be held on Saturday, September 22 at 2:00 PM at Camp Yonahnoka in Linville, North Carolina. Read More
  • Allen honored with Evan Lloyd Adamson Humanitarian Award

    The Celebration and the Adamson family are proud to announce the 2018 winner of the Evan Lloyd Adamson award, Connie Allen, director of office operations for The Celebration. Read More
  • Stalls available for hurricane Florence evacuees

    The Celebration will make grounds and stalls available at NO CHARGE for horses evacuating the Carolina’s due to Hurricane Florence. To make arrangements to stall your horses please call 931-684-5915. Read More
  • Nelms becomes first to win all three model titles

    It didn’t take long for Robert Nelms to get noticed at this year’s Celebration. Right out of the gate he was busy leading his winning model entries into the Calsonic for both the morning classes of the show as well as the National Futurity, which serves as the first set of evening classes during Celebration week. Read More
  • Obituary – Noble Stout

    Noble Hooper Stout, Jr., 69, passed away Friday, September 7, 2018 at Cookeville Regional Medical Center. Noble was born in Jackson County on July 12, 1949 to the late Noble Hooper Stout and Mable Carter Stout... Read More