Skip to content

Tennessee Elects Five Directors

Copyright WHR 2006

By Christy Howard Parsons

The accounting firm of Cook and Co. released the results of the TWHBEA election for National Directors today. The Tennessee ballot indicated that there were to be three directors elected, however due to an inadvertent error regarding the expiration of Charles Gleghorn's term as well as another director who moved out of the state of Tennessee, there were actually five seats to be filled in Tennessee.

The top five vote getters in Tennessee were Tracy Boyd (443 votes), Chris Bobo (369 votes), Dee Dee Sale (319 votes), Jerrold Pedigo (224 votes), and Walter Chism (222 votes). Current National Director and Executive Committee member Larry Lowman was not elected to another term in Tennessee.

Sid Baucom, current Vice President Bylaws, indicated in an earlier interview with The Report, that the bylaws required that the national election be completed by November 1, which prevented another election from taking place.

“There is no best way to do it,” said Baucom in an interview before the election results were counted. “This was a practical solution to an inadvertent error. The bylaws provide that in the event of a vacancy, such as a death or resignation, that the next highest vote getter assumes the position. The only practical thing to do is to let the top five highest vote getters assume the five seats.”

In other races across the country, Jamie Hankins was reelected in Kentucky. Joining him in Kentucky are Kim Bennett, Earl Rogers, Jr., and Ronnie Vincent.

In all, 23% of the 17,049 ballots were returned, or 3,940 votes cast nationwide.

For complete details and vote counts, see the TWHBEA release on this site for a link to the full accountant's report.

More Stories

  • Latest_Issue_June_25_18

    Read More
  • Christmas In July schedule update

    The Christmas In July show, scheduled for July 4-5, has modified their original class schedule. Class 32 will now be Amateur Country Pleasure Western and class 9a will be Amateur Country Pleasure English. Read More
  • Supreme Court Decision Holds ALJs Must Be Appointed

    The United States Supreme Court has ruled that Administrative Law Judges must be appointed by the department head and not how they are currently retained by the agency they represent.  The case, Lucia vs. the Securities and Exchange Commission, does not deal with administrative law judges in the USDA, however the ruling could have a major impact on the enforcement scheme currently utilized by the USDA in Horse Protection Act cases. Read More
  • Obituary – Sam Hartsell

    Sam “Shot” Hartsell, age 74, of Newport, passed away Saturday, June 9, 2018, in Knoxville. He was preceded in death by his wife, Nan Hartsell and parents, Floyd and Viola McMahan Hartsell... Read More
  • WHOA announces International judging panel

    The Walking Horse Owners' is pleased to announce the three judges selected by current WHOA members. Charlie Brown, Shelli MeHaffey and Lonnie Messick will officiate the 40th Annual International Pleasure & Colt Championship.

    Read More
  • Savannah Lions Club adds classes

    The 52nd Annual Savannah Lions Club Show, scheduled for June 23 at 6:30 pm, has added two classes to their original schedule... Read More
  • Scrivner selected to judge Mid-South

    The Mid-South Walking Horse Association Show, scheduled for July 14, has selected Dickie Scrivner of Murfreesboro, Tennessee to mark the cards for this year's event. The show will be held at Pugh Bourne Park in Jackson, Tennessee.  Read More
  • Equine Obituary - Gen’s Armed & Dangerous

    The Report has recently learned of the passing of Gen’s Armed and Dangerous. The beautiful stallion was the 1994 Tennessee Walking Horse World Grand Champion. Read More
  • Ohio Valley adds class

    Ohio Valley Walking Horse Association show, scheduled for June 23 in Stanford, Kentucky, has added a 4 and Under Trail Pleasure to their show.  Read More
  • Walking For Hope Show updates

    The Walking For Hope show, scheduled for June 16, has selected Chris Zahnd to judge this year’s event. Originally scheduled to start at 4:00, the show will start at 5:00 pm. Read More