The Tennessee Walking Horse Breeders’ & Exhibitors’ Association (TWHBEA) held their annual International Board of Directors’ meeting on December 3, 2022 at their headquarters in Lewisburg, Tenn.  One of the main agenda items at the meeting is the election of the 2023 Executive Committee.

For the first time in many years, the nominating committee’s slate was approved in full by the directors with no contested positions.  The 2023 executive committee will be:
President – Jack Heffington (1 year)
Sr. Vice President – Amanda Wright (1 year)
Admin/Fiscal – Joyce Moyer (1 year)
Breeders – David Sisk
Bylaws/Enforcement – Tom Kakassy
Equine Welfare – Bill Strickland
Marketing – Melanie Lawrence (1 year)
Owners/Exhibitors/International – Denise Bader (1 year)
Performance Horse – Lance Messenheimer
Pleasure Horse – Lyn Montgomery
Trainers – Thom Meek (1 year)
Youth – Chris Hazelwood

In one of the new bylaws amendments previously approved by the membership of TWHBEA, the new executive committee will serve in two-year terms and have staggered terms with 50% of the executive committee being elected each year.  The terms of those elected in this cycle were decided in the first executive committee meeting held after the directors meeting.  Half of those elected this year will serve a one-year term and half will serve a two-year term.  Kasey Kesselring was appointed secretary by the new executive committee.

A full recap of the meeting will be posted online and included in the December 12th issue of Walking Horse Report.