Skip to content

Walking Horse Trainers Auxiliary Looks Forward to 2003

The Walking Horse Trainers Auxiliary held their annual banquet on December 7, 2002. Activities included the recognition of the Member Of The Year, election of new officers, appointments of committee chairs, scholarship winners, and several award presentations were made.

The Auxiliary congratulated Freda Dean on being voted the 2002 Member of the Year. Dean was presented the award along with a silver Auxiliary logo pendant from Richard’s Jewelry. The Presentation was made at the annual Trainers banquet and was presented by outgoing President Dee Cantrell.

The election of new officers took precedence at the December meeting. Freda Dean was elected to serve as President of the organization. Ashlea Wheelon will continue to serve as the 1st vice president, and Beth Young accepted the role of the 2nd vice president. Joyce Green will take the secretary position, and Jada Callaway will serve as the treasurer. The officers welcome any ideas or suggestions.

The much sought after Highpoint awards were presented at the December meeting. The coveted Gold High Point Award ended in a tie. Beth Young and Joyce Green were the winners for 2002. The Silver Award went to Jill Derickson. Stacy Blackburn received the Bronze Award. Congratulations were extended for show-ring successes in the 2002 season.

Each year the Walking Horse trainers Association honors individuals that they value as supporters by inducting them into the Friendship Club. This years inductees included the Walking Horse Trainers Auxiliary which has always supported the Trainers Association. The Auxiliary was very honored to be recognized and inducted into the Friendship Club. Cyndi McConnell was individually honored as she was chosen as an inductee for 2002.

In 2002 the Auxiliary donated $5500 of the proceeds from the Money Tree Classic to various therapeutic riding programs. The auxiliary is proud to support these programs through the project Walking Horses Overcoming Obstacles (WHOO). Each of the programs utilize walking horses during therapy. Facilities that received donations included Saddle Up of Franklin, Tenn., Good Shepard located in Warm Springs, Georgia, and Great Strides of Shelbyville, Tenn.

Beth Thomas was elected again to chair the scholarship project. During the December meeting it was passed that three scholarships would be awarded during 2003. The All Around, Need Based, and the Auxiliary Member Scholarship will each be $2500. The application will be available this summer. For an application, please send your name and address to WHT Auxiliary, P.O. Box 61, Shelbyville, TN 37162.

Chairpersons have been named to serve on committees. Beth Thomas and Beth Young will chair the Money Tree Classic Horse Show. The Fun Show Silent Auction will be chaired by Judy Young and Dale Martin. Beth Thomas will be in charge of the Scholarship Committee. The Trainers’ building Project will be under the guidance of Dee Cantrell. The Sunshine Committee includes Kathy Thompson and Susan Coleman. Other committee chairs include Candy Green in charge of Great Strides, WHOO chair is Beverly Greenup, Dee Cantrell will organize the Grand Prize Giveaway, Get the Habit will be run by Jill Derickson, the Legislative Committee Chair is Iris Schuman, Marguerite Thomas will chair the Equitation Classes, and the Celebration Dog Show will be organized by Sheilia Groover and Brenda Upton.

The Auxiliary continues to thank Don and Lucky Collins for the generous donation of Mud Slide Slim. He continues to be a favorite breeding stallion and his stud fees provide financial support to handicapped riders. “Mud” was officially retired at the 1990 Celebration and stands at stud at Sand Creek Farm. For breeding information contact Patti Gray at (931) 684-9558.

The next meeting has been scheduled as March 22, 2003 at 1 P.M. in the Blue Ribbon Circle. The Ladies of the the Walking Horse Trainers Auxiliary look forward to an exciting and productive 2003.

More Stories

  • Latest Issue September 24 18

    Read More
  • A Mighty Strong Finish

    Going into the coveted World Grand Championship class Saturday night, Sept. 1, the field was somewhat wide-open for contenders riding for the biggest prize of the show. The preliminaries had given several horses a chance to shine, a few surprises emerged, and the judges were spread out with their opinions throughout the week, as was the crowd, demonstrating stiff competition. Read More
  • Oxford, NC show rescheduled

    North Carolina's PPWHANC Show scheduled for Oxford,N.C. on September 15th has been rescheduled; the new show date is September 29th with the same class schedule as previously presented.  Read More
  • #900 never to return to Celebration competition

    At the 79th anniversary of the Tennessee Walking Horse National Celebration, Bill Callaway and Gen’s Black Maverick rode into the ring on the last Saturday night to a roar of applause and cheering, and they exited the ring in the same fashion as they claimed the title of 2017 Tennessee Walking Horse World Grand Champion... Read More
  • Obituary – Pat Kirk

    Pat Kirk, 89, of Purdy, Missouri entered into eternal rest on Tuesday September 11, 2018 while at Cox South Hospital in Springfield, Missouri.  Read More
  • Obituary - Burl Dale

    The Report has recently learned of the sudden passing of Burl Dale on September 18, 2018. A Memorial Service will be held on Saturday, September 22 at 2:00 PM at Camp Yonahnoka in Linville, North Carolina. Read More
  • Allen honored with Evan Lloyd Adamson Humanitarian Award

    The Celebration and the Adamson family are proud to announce the 2018 winner of the Evan Lloyd Adamson award, Connie Allen, director of office operations for The Celebration. Read More
  • Stalls available for hurricane Florence evacuees

    The Celebration will make grounds and stalls available at NO CHARGE for horses evacuating the Carolina’s due to Hurricane Florence. To make arrangements to stall your horses please call 931-684-5915. Read More
  • Nelms becomes first to win all three model titles

    It didn’t take long for Robert Nelms to get noticed at this year’s Celebration. Right out of the gate he was busy leading his winning model entries into the Calsonic for both the morning classes of the show as well as the National Futurity, which serves as the first set of evening classes during Celebration week. Read More
  • Obituary – Noble Stout

    Noble Hooper Stout, Jr., 69, passed away Friday, September 7, 2018 at Cookeville Regional Medical Center. Noble was born in Jackson County on July 12, 1949 to the late Noble Hooper Stout and Mable Carter Stout... Read More