Skip to content

WHOA Register of Merit Point Books Due

Deadline December 5, 2013

If you and your horse have completed your show season it is time to turn in your WHOA point books. Please mail them to Sis Osborne, 3079 Pulaski Hwy, Cornersville, TN 37047, or contact her for any questions by email: SISOSBORNE@TDS.NET, Point books are due and must be submitted by December 5 for yearly awards.
What is ROM?
If you are not familiar with the WHOA ROM program but enjoy the precision of the trail class, the excitement of barrel racing, the challenge of jumping, or the demands of endurance riding the Register of Merit (ROM) program was established in 1989 to provide Plantation Pleasure horses and their exhibitors a showcase for their versatility.
To be eligible for awards, the owner of the horse must be a WHOA member, the horse must be a registered Tennessee Walking Horse at least 2 years old, and the horse must be nominated by September 1 of each calendar year. Points count only from the time the owner became a WHOA member. Point books are issued each year and must be submitted by December 5 for yearly awards.
Points are earned by placing at any organized horse show, competitive or endurance ride, or other event. Divisions include model, plantation, lite shod, western, trail pleasure, driving, trail, game classes, contest classes, TWH over fences, reining, western riding, showmanship, equitation, dressage, stock horse events, competitive and endurance riding and promotion. Horses and riders do not have to compete in every division to win awards.

Awards include Certificate of Achievement, Certificate of Merit, Register of Merit and Diamond Certificates. The Register of Merit is the program's highest honor. The Register of Merit champion is a prime example of a versatile Plantation Tennessee Walking Horse with excellent gaits.
For more information, or to nominate your horse for the Register of Merit Program, contact Sis Osborne, 3079 Pulaski Hwy, Cornersville, TN 37047, or email: SISOSBORNE@TDS.NET
National High Point Program
Each year WHOA also recognizes Walking Horses and their owners through the National High Point Awards. Points are accumulated at shows across the country that are affiliated with any Horse Industry Organization (HIO). Horses are awarded points in their division based on their placing at each show. Horses that win a National High Point Award are not necessarily World Champions in their division, but horses that have competed at numerous shows and consistently placed well. Points are accumulated during the calendar year and awards are presented each February at the WHOA National Convention
As a WHOA member you may earn points for the National High Point Program, or the WHOA Versatility High Point Program. If you are 17 years old or younger, your points earned qualify you for the WHOA Quest Youth & Amateur High Point Program.
All WHOA High Point Programs are open to any HIO so that any show you that you enter classes the points add up. Results of shows must be sent to the Walking Horse Report within 30 days. An awards Banquet is held in February for the top WHOA member winners.

More Stories

  • Horseracing Integrity and Safety Act passes House

    On September 29, 2020 the bipartisan Horseracing Integrity and Safety Act passed via voice vote on the floor of the United States House of Representatives. The bill was introduced by Rep. Andy Barr, a republican from Kentucky and Rep. Paul Tonko, a democrat from New York... Read More
  • **Updated Horse Show Schedule

    The Walking Horse Report will provide daily updates to the list of canceled and postponed horse shows... Read More
  • Roger Latham Memorial moves date

    The Roger Latham Memorial/Baileyton Fall Classic, originally scheduled for October 10, will now be held Saturday, October 17. A class schedule will be posted as it becomes available. For more information, contact David Latham 256-572-1820, Read More
  • Obituary – Woodrow Spinks

    Woodrow Spinks, 87, passed away Saturday, September 26, 2020. He was born in Falco, Alabama. on August 23, 1933 to E.C. and Della Lundy Spinks and is preceded in death by his parents; his loving wife, Carolyn Spinks... Read More
  • Latest Issue 9 28 20

    Read More
  • Jose's Cold Chills update

    The Walking Horse Report has just recently learned that Jose’ Cold Chills will not be returning to the ring. Following an injury at the 2020 Celebration in the Walking Stake class the decision was made today that the talented horse will no longer compete in the ring. Owner Bart McWaters made this statement for the McWaters Family... Read More
  • Inman steps down from The Celebration

    Tennessee Walking Horse National Celebration Chief Executive Officer Mike Inman tendered his resignation to the Celebration’s board of directors on September 23, 2020.  The resignation from Inman will be effective immediately and comes after his eight-year stint at the helm of The Celebration. Read More
  • Obituary – Peggy Vernon

    Peggy Joyce Vernon, 81, passed away Tuesday, September 1, 2020, at Magnolia Regional Health Center in Corinth. She was born in Winona, Mississippi, on September 19, 1938... Read More
  • Obituary – Steve Beech

    Stephen W. “Steve” Beech, III, 77, resident of Belfast, died on Tuesday, September 22, 2020 at Lynchburg Nursing Center... Read More
  • Trainers' Show schedule update

    The Walking Horse Trainers' Association has added a class to their original schedule. Class 18 will be Five & Under Show Pleasure, Riders’ Cup. The show will be held October 8-10 at the Calsonic Arena in Shelbyville, Tennessee.  Read More