Skip to content

Wisconsin Awards Banquet and Elections



by Jean Baum

            MILWAUKEE, Wis. - The Wisconsin Walking Horse Association is one of the first state associations to hold their awards banquets on Saturday, Nov. 9. Elections also took place as each year three of the nine board members finish out their term and three more are elected for a three-year term.
            Carol Olp has been the Point Chairman for many years and again produced, along with Sue Clement, a delightful evening and beautiful trophies for all winners. Aliota’s Restaurant in Milwaukee was the setting with a big private room and a delicious dinner.
            Kim von Asten, Will Kowalski and Jenny Kippley were inducted as the three new board members, round out the board already including Jan Spencer, Marianne Springer, Polly Wenham, Bob Rodenkirch, Sue Clement and Jean Baum. Spencer is the new president with Kowalski taking over as vice-president.
            Following dinner and a business meeting, it was time to recognize the excited award winners, a group of very deserving owners and riders who put in a long year of hard work and support every show.
            Five special perpetual traveling trophies are given each year. Jim Sizer earned the Charles and Alice Sears memorial Traveling Award; Wally Huebner earned the WWHA Club Appreciation Award; Kayla Kuenzi earned the June Mist Memorial Traveling Trophy which is awarded to the adult versatility exhibitor; and Bob Dillon’s Ebony Threat earned the WWHA High Point Horse of the Year Award.

More Stories

  • No tears tonight!

    Read More
  • EQUITANA USA Announces Show Dates Alongside New Collaborations

    EQUITANA USA and the Kentucky Horse Park are pleased to announce the official show dates alongside three new collaborations. The new EQUITANA USA show will run Friday, September 25 – Sunday, September 27, 2020, making it a complete three day shopping and educational equestrian event.  Read More
  • Walking Horse Trainers’ Auxiliary Scholarship Application

    The Walking Horse Trainers’ Auxiliary is a national non-profit organization dedicated to charitable organizations, such as the programs for handicapped riders, and the promotion of the Tennessee Walking Horse... Read More
  • Walking For Cancer coverage

    The Report will be providing live coverage from Walking For Cancer on ReporTV this weekend. Highlights from the show will be posted the following day. There will also be live results. Read More
  • Obituary – Emery "Rocky" Jones

    Emery “Rocky” Jones, age 64 of Columbia, TN passed away on April 19, 2019 at home with his family. Rocky was born in 1954 to the late Henry and Geraldine Woodside Jones. He worked at Harlinsdale Farm in Franklin, TN for 47 years and knew everything about each breed of horse at the farm.  Read More
  • Members of Congress Should Reject HSUS Award

    The Humane Society of the United States recently released its scorecard for Congress. There’s much irony to be found in the situation considering the organization receives a “D” from CharityWatch and was recently embroiled in a major sexual harassment scandal in which the board of directors tried to cover for the alleged sexual predator CEO. Read More
  • Latest Issue 4 22 19

    Read More
  • Year In Walking Horses Dedication: Honey Badger

    Do you know what a honey badger is? If not, don’t worry about it … the honey badger really doesn’t care what you think because they know how awesome they are. A small, fierce mammal also known as a ratel, the honey badger was made famous after a video about it, narrated by Chuck Norris, went viral. Read More
  • Year In Walking Horses Dedication: Howard Hamilton

    Howard Hamilton has spent his entire life devoting himself to his family and the horse and he does it all for one very simple reason — love. He and his family literally love the horse with all of their hearts; Howard certainly plays his part in doing what he can to ensure the horse, the industry and the industry’s youth thrive. Read More
  • The Money Tree Classic selects Beard

    Walking Horse Trainers’ Auxiliary is proud to announce that Rollie Beard will judge the 36th Annual Money Tree Classic on July 5, 2019. The show will be held in Champions Arena.  Read More